vyerika

  • Belgium
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    In London at the moment, if you wanna hang out (museum, walk, drink/eat or something else), just message me :)

    My next destination:

    United Kingdom - from May 2021 until Dec 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hi, my name's Vy and I'm from Belgium. I've just graduated recently (yeaahh finally), which means I am now free!! Free to travel, discover new places, cultures, meet new people and take time for myself, as much as I want to :)

    In 2019/2020 I spent 5 months in Tokyo during an Erasmus exchange and it was amazing! I'd be happy to show you all the beautiful pictures I've taken if you'd like to.
    After Japan, I went abroad again, for an internship, but this time, closer to Belgium: just across the Channel to London. Unfortunately, I was soon back to Belgium because of covid.
    But now I'm ready to go on with the adventure and that's why I joined workaway: to discover the world and each region's culture by living with locals.

    At the moment, I'd like to stay in the UK (I've got the pre-settled status).
    I'm looking to stay with hosts who are interested in cultural exchange or something more than a mere relationship of "work in exchange of food and accomodation". I think it makes the experience more enjoyable :)
    I'm also looking for travel buddies as I find that workaway can sometimes feels lonely, so message me if you're in the UK :)

    When I stay somewhere, I like to explore the surroundings, even if that means walking 5miles under the rain with all my luggages or going on a long public transport trip ;) I can't help it, I can't stay everyday at home when I know there are new places out there worth visiting (except when my body tells me that I should take some rest after that 5miles hike haha)

    Now, what kind of human being am I?
    I'm a reliable and organised person, ready to learn new things and skills. Quite reserved (not the kind of person to burst into laughter or tears, I'm more discreet) and quite an introvert (I also need some time on my own, often in the evening after a day of work). With that being said, I might seem anti-social or seem like I hate people but I don't haha, I actually enjoy meeting new people :)
    I'm really curious to try new experiences (but not like skydiving lol, or at least, not yet).
    I love music (I listen to all kinds: rock, pop, classical, jazz, musicals, reggaeton, r&b, ...), I also play the piano and learned the basics of cello and drums. I enjoy reading (particularly fond of Jane Austen), travelling, ... I'm also interested in ballet and culture (museums, arts, history), vintage stuff (fashion, lifestyle, period drama)...

    I'd be happy to talk more with you when we meet, so let's get in touch :)

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate
    Vietnamese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'd like to improve my English, Spanish or Dutch. I can help with French (I'm a French native). I'd also love to learn some Italian or German.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Languages
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I'm a French native so if you want to practice or just learn some words, I can help with that.
    I'd also be happy to share some French (and Belgian) music with you. I play the piano so I could play some music for you or teach you (although I've never done that before).

    Cooking: I'm more of a pastry cook (cakes, biscuits, any yummy desserts...), but I have no problem helping with the meals.

    I have a good computer knowledge: Word, Powerpoint, Excel and also social media and designs creation (images/visuals) using Canva. I have a background in marketing.

    I'm also good at administrative things, office work (I'm detail-oriented).

    I also have basic experience with horses (did horse-riding when I was younger).

    And finally, I am available for cultural exchange :)

    That's all I can think of at the moment but of course I'm always happy to help with any other tasks, I'm a quick learner and I like to acquire new skills or try new things.

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    I am not comfortable when the place I'm staying at is not clean.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback