Ginny

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Peru
    View all
  • Description

    I am Ginny: lover of the outdoors, avid baker, snowboard enthusiast, educator and student, manager, people-pleaser, wilderness therapy guide, permaculture enthusiast, and dancer to funk music. I am generally joyful and love to learn and share. My main intention in life is to help create a world of more positive, happy, and conscientious people and creatures. I strive to bring smiles to those around me, and to fill my life with love and beautiful moments. Having fun, learning new things, challenging myself, and making meaningful connections are the things that I try to make happen everyday.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    What you really need to know is I love working with all types of people, I'm versatile, and I'm a hard worker. Here are the details:

    An ongoing pattern in my life is hospitality. I have worked in guest services in dingy hostels and five star hotels. I am an avid baker, and even do bread subscriptions in my home-base of Taos, NM, where people pay me for a month of bread and I deliver to them a different, freshly baked loaf each week. Additionally, I love to cook and believe in eating a rainbow plate. Of course I always prefer to cook with local, organic ingredients in a clean kitchen, but I have a wealth of experience cooking with limited ingredients in cluttered kitchens. Making people feel happy, comfortable, and at-home is something I adore.

    Additionally, I have some skills and experience working on farms and veggie gardens in a variety of places - from Vancouver Island to Israel to Chile. I embrace the opportunity to learn agricultural techniques of varying regions/cultures. I also have taken a permaculture design course, which included training in not only organic agricultural practices, but also in bioconstruction and off-grid living. I have done a little bit of bioconstruction in past workaways, and would love to do more. Living part of the year in the birthplace of earthships has led me to lot's of knowledgable folks who have shared plenty of tricks, tips and techniques as to how they creatively live off-the-grid.

    Finally, I believe my entrepreneurial and managerial skills could be useful to any projects you have. I currently spend winters working as a supervisor at a Bcorp hotel in a ski area, and have plenty of experience working with all types of people in small businesses and nonprofits doing things from marketing to digging trenches with a group of volunteers. As an advocate for sustainable, small and local businesses, I have experience in carrying out new projects and seeing ideas turn into reality!

    I have also worked as an educator in both English as a foreign language, as well as environmental education in various settings. Prior to teaching, I worked as a camp counselor at environmental camps; which led me to realize how much kids can teach all of us! I adore kids, and dream of someday opening a free summer camp for all kids to enjoy the great outdoors and learn about self-sufficiency, environmental stewardship, slow food and compassionate problem-solving.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback