Tim

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Cyprus, Greece, Lebanon, Malta

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/12/2018 - 08/02/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am originally from New Zealand, but have spent the last 20 years living in the UK.
    I loved travelling to new places when I was younger, but then work, marriage and a mortgage got in the way. Still married and still have the mortgage, but with a grown up daughter and the freedom of working for myself, I have decided to spend some time seeing as much of the world as I can and hopefully making some new friends along the way.
    I have a degree in Linguistics and spent the first few years after graduating teaching English as a Foreign Language; firstly in New Zealand, then in the UK for two years, followed by two years in Poland. My experience in Poland was incredible and made me realise how much I love living in a different country and learning the language and culture. Being immersed in the language was a wonderful way to learn and by the time I left I was fairly proficient in Polish.
    Sadly, rather than repeat this wonderful experience in a new country which I realise now I should have done, I decided to chase the mighty dollar and returned to university to do a post-graduate diploma in IT. I worked for the next 15 years in IT, becoming an IT manager, but to be honest hated it by the end. The main reason being I realised I wasn't cut out for office work and also disliked being in the same place every day, dealing with the same problems.
    A random conversation one boring Friday afternoon lead a friend and I to decide to go cycling around Mongolia - dressed in tweed, no less! ( photos on https://tweedgt.wordpress.com/)
    This trip, which also incorporated visiting Russia and China on the Trans-Mongolian railway was a relveation to me - that I wasn't too old for this sort of thing, and I absolutely loved it. The high point of the trip (amongst many) was camping alone on the Great Wall of China watching the sunset before being enveloped in the most incredible thunderstorm.
    Taking the opportunity of redundancy being offered, I decided to change direction, without having any clue where I would end up. Over the course of year I worked as a labourer, bar manager, driver, scaffolder, tour guide and with a tree surgeon and landscaper before deciding gardening was what I most enjoyed. For the past two years I have been running my own business doing gardening in the beautiful Cotswolds around Chipping Norton, where I live.
    I hate blowing my own trumpet, hence no social media profile, but this period taught me a number of things about myself ; I am resourceful, reliable and conscientious - everyone I worked for wanted me to stay when I decided it was time to move on. And more importantly, I get on well with people from all walks of life and am true to my word; my entire business now has been built on word-of-mouth and I have more people wanting me to work for them than I can cope with.
    Being from New Zealand, I am a big sports fan and love the outdoors and nature. My favourite pasttimes are walking my dog in the countryside, hiking, and time in the pub with friends.
    Any work outdoors or connected to the environment or animal welfare would be of particular interest to me. I enjoy time alone as much as I like to socialise and get to know people and am equally happy working on my own or with others.
    As regards where in the world I would like to go, it really doesn't matter if it is somewhere new and exciting! I am just dipping my toe in the water now with Workaway, but hope to have a positive experience and decide to do more.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening & landscaping
    Computers & IT
    English language teaching
    Tour guiding
    Bar work
    Basic DIY
    Proof reading / content creation

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Polish: Beginner

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    New Zealand

  • What else ...

    I had such a great time on my first WorkAway to Lebanon in January, i am going back in September. I will be driving this time, through France and following the Med coast to Italy and then down through the Balkans to Turkey where i will get a ferry to Lebanon. Would love to pick up one or two nights stops en route if possible.
    Anyone looking, please let me know!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback