Please use your browser's back button.

Sönke

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Serbia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/02/2020 - 28/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    My current objective is to explore more of Europe, as it offers about as many different landscapes, people and cultures as parts of the world, which are farther afield, but you won't incidentally kill the planet while getting there. Especially fascinating about European cultures is how they have in common (compared to other, more distant countries), but how close they seem at the same time in consideration of other aspects. Based on that it gets even more interesting, when you think about how European Union is doing its best to unite the 500 Million people of Europe, based on the assumption of some common interests.
    As you might have already guessed I'm very interested in history, politics and philosophy. It brings great joy to me to have discussions about current affairs or generally controversial topics with my friends.
    Sadly that did not play a role in my law studies. That's the reason why I decided to take a break and explore France. Afterwards I started studying Urbanism at the Bauhaus Uni in Weimar, which is an extraordinarily interesting field to study, as it is just at the interface of engineering, politics and municipal administration.
    In 2015/2016 I a spend a year in New Mexico, USA as an exchange student at an high school, I greatly enjoyed living with my host family, having three siblings (after growing up as an only child) and playing basketball as well as debating with the Speech&Debate team.
    During my time off I'm organizing FridaysForFuture demonstrations as well as doing other performance and art activism around the topics of climate justice, antifascism, urban politics and other topics.
    In the past year I've learned to appreciate cooking, as a great activity to clear one's mind as well as it is a lot of fun to do with friends. I'd love to help prepare meals, especially since it's nice way to explore the cuisine of different countries.
    I love cats (my family in Germany has got three of them) and also get along with dogs pretty well. As I've also spent a fair amount of my childhood in the cattle sheds of the surrounding farms, I also know how to handle different kinds of animals.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    - I'm pretty skilled when it comes to working with tools either outdoors or indoors, as I grew up doing a lot of craftmanship to fix things around our old farm or in the garden
    - I've started to plant a meadow orchard with different fruit trees and would like to learn more about them
    - I have a drivers license (including trailers) and enjoy driving cars greatly
    - Basic knowledge in HTML and wordpress; familiar with Microsoft Office

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm vegan, but not bothered by "omnivores", I'll just skip the meat and dairy

Photos

Feedback