Samantha & Saikou

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/10/2018 - 14/04/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status


  • Description

    Hi! We are a HAPPY, HEALTHY, FIT, and ENTHUSIASTIC husband and wife team looking for a challenging and rewarding workaway position in Africa where we can utilise and expand our skills, experience, and qualifications and, where possible, help others less fortunate.
    Over the past 25 years I (Sammy) have worked extensively across both the education and hospitality sectors. I have a BACHELOR OF EDUCATION and am currently completing a Master of Education specialising in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) by distance. I have taught young children from kindergarten through to year 6; I have lectured in Human Resources and taught English to international students at the International College of Management, Sydney, and, more recently, I have worked as an academic skills adviser at a large regional university (Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga), where I interacted closely with staff and students, my major responsibility being to assist students to develop the academic skills necessary to be successful in their studies. Throughout my working life I have also held a wide variety of positions within the hospitality industry, from waitress/barperson, through to more senior roles including hostess (restaurant), payroll officer and Human Resources Manager . A couple of years ago my sister and I opened and managed what became an extremely busy cafe, in a large regional Australian city called Wagga Wagga. This project involved purchasing a rundown but well-located property and gutting and renovating it over a 3 month period. Apart from the electrical and plumbing work and the installation of a particularly large window, we completed all demolition and renovation work ourselves, including constructing and installing all interior timber joinery (counter, shelving, signage etc.); re-lining interior walls; interior and exterior painting; and construction of timber chairs, tables and external benches from timber pallets found in the local area.
    More recently I was employed as Day Manager of "Alma", a busy Mexican eatery located in Sydney, Australia. My varied responsibilities in this role include greeting and seating customers; receiving and managing restaurant bookings; taking food and drink orders; supervising junior wait staff; developing appropriate workplace procedures and policies; and ensuring the general cleanliness and high standards of presentation of the restaurant during the day. As a manager, I lead by example. I have no problems getting my hands dirty and this includes cleaning, whether it be the front-of-house, the kitchen or the toilets. I have also assisted with breakfast food preparation and cooking when kitchen staff have been absent.
    As the restaurant is now running well and my son and his business partner have hit their strides, my husband and I are keen to return to Africa to work, meet other like-minded travellers, and generally enjoy the beauty of the country and it’s people and to contribute our skills and experience in any way we can.
    My husband, Saikou, has a Diploma in Hospitality & Tourism. Unfortunately, due to the limited availability of jobs in The Gambia, he has predominantly worked as a construction labourer. That said, as well as being an incredibly hard worker, he is blessed with intelligence, a great sense of humour, a kind heart, and a willingness to be of service.
    Together we are a formidable team and can't wait to put our skills and experience to good use!!!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    We can honestly say that between us we have a really broad range of skills, experience and qualifications. We can offer:
    + teaching qualifications and experience (small children in primary school and at hospice
    for terminally ill children, through to adults and young adults at university)
    + experience teaching English (TESOL certified)
    + hospitality skills & qualifications (worked in bars, restaurants, cafes, 4 star hotels as
    barperson, housemaid, waiter, cafe owner/manager, restaurant supervisor, payroll
    officer, human resources officer)
    + construction & labouring experience (renovated 5 houses and one cafe (supervision of
    renovation and building projects as well as hands-on physical labour including
    demolition, rubbish removal, stripping and painting both interior and exterior surfaces,
    removing and installing roof insulation, minor timber construction work using hand and
    power tools, making timber furniture, landscaping etc.).
    + pool maintenance (testing water ph levels, adjusting chemicals, cleaning)
    + gardening and landscaping (weeding, pruning, planting, constructing fences, planting
    and maintaining vegetable garden, mowing, watering)
    + feeding, exercising and caring for a variety of animals including dogs, cats, cattle and horses
    + office skills (competent in the use of computers, particularly Apple Mac, Word, Microsoft
    Office, Excel, fast accurate typing skills, familiar with Facebook and Instagram)
    + strong organisation skills (competent and comfortable working alone or within a team)
    + Reasonable cooking skills (can't claim to be great cooks but comfortable and competent
    with basic food preparation and cooking)
    + Cross-cultural experience (teaching one-on-one and class groups at university and an
    international college)
    + Resilience, courage, optimism in the face of adversity (Saikou grew up in The Gambia in very impoverished living conditions. He loves Africa and its people and has personal experience of the challenges they face and is highly motivated to help in whatever capacity he can. I have also briefly lived in The Gambia in a compound with an extended family group and experienced their daily lives including pit toilets, having to draw water from a shared well, cramped conditions etc.)
    + A willingness to try new things and learn from failure. GIVE US A CHALLENGE AND WATCH US GO!
    + Overall, we love to LAUGH and MAKE OTHERS LAUGH, MEET PEOPLE, LEARN NEW SKILLS, travel and experience the world and HELP OTHERS in whatever capacity we can.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    50 & 40

  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    Love, laughter, new experiences and good friends are what we value most in life and being able to use our skills and experience to improve the lives of people less fortunate is what motivates us. We are strong believers in the need to "be" the difference you want to see in the world. Undertaking workaway in Africa is an opportunity for us to be the difference!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements