Simon

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    Sewing, DIY, sustainability, language exchange, teaching/alternative schooling, activism, art projects

    My next destination:

    Germany - from Aug 2021 until Dec 2022
    View all
  • Description

    MOTIVATION

    In July 2021 I will leave my communal flat in Manchester, where I have lived, studied, and worked since 2015. I will be leaving the stresses of rent and British politics behind! I am searching for creative and community focused projects, and hope to gain experience teaching English, and learning practical skills from others, including German language, culture/society, environmental projects, DIY skills, and permaculture.

    I am hoping to gain the language skills and social networks to settle in Berlin/Leipzig long-term - I'm at the beginning of a new chapter in my life. My current plan is to not have much of a plan - I'm throwing myself into new experiences, learning from others, and staying open minded.

    PERSONAL / BIOGRAPHY

    I am a positive and relaxed person who likes to get to know new people, be active (in mind and body) and collaborate with others. I hope to develop projects and add some of my own creative input into the process; using crafts and construction skills is very exciting to me as reusing old materials/objects and transforming them into something new is both personally and ecologically rewarding. I like to stay mindful of 'embodied politics' when working, by this I mean using my body and actions to create more equal, sustainable and empowering forms of community and cooperation. That said, I am not trying to start arguments or overthrow existing ways of working, I just hope to make work an enjoyable and rewarding activity for everyone (:

    INTERESTS/HOBBIES

    Aside from the more conventional activities - cycling, running, music, and cinema - I have a great interest in fashion and design. I am greatly inspired by the power of clothing and performance to introduce new ideas and express ourselves. I mostly work with recycled or trash materials that I collect around the city - old rubber bike tubes, off-cuts of leather, and metal wire from demolished/abandoned buildings. I work like this to reduce my impact on the environment but it also helps inspire me, and gives my work a sense of history.

    Similarly, I enjoy DIY/home improvement, using old materials and abandoned pieces of furniture. Creating a place to relax, reflect and connect is a really important part of 'self-growth' and community for me and I love working with other people to create spaces and homes that works for them, especially if you can recycle and learn skills in the process. I am greatly interested in improving my construction skills and working on projects in the home, garden, van, or boat.

    I have been taking night classes in German since summer 2019, and am really eager to improve my spoken language abilities. I also completed an English teaching course (TEFL 200 hour) in April 2021, and am capable in providing casual language practice and formal lessons for children and adults. I am eager to gain some experience in teaching, and am happy for this to make up some of my work hours with a host.

    I am a very experienced home cook, with years of working experience in a number of kitchens. I turned vegetarian when I was 15 so had to quickly learn how to produce exciting and nutritious food from plants. Since then I have moved to a vegan diet, which further opened my mind to new ways of using vegetables, grains and fruits. I am happy and experienced in cooking for large groups of people.

    I try to read as much as possible. I mostly read books about history, social change, and politics - Naomi Klein, David Wojnarowicz, and Angela Davis, for example. I sometimes enjoy novels but find reality to be more shocking and mind-blowing than fiction. I studied Sociology at university so am always interested in discussing and learning more about society and history.

    I grew up in a household with many animals and am therefore very comfortable caring for non-human creatures - naturally, I have a great fondness and respect for all animal life. Likewise, I have become very interested in plants and ecosystems recently, and would like to become better at identifying species in the wild. I have basic foraging skills for mushrooms and have raised many houseplants, so have basic botany knowledge. I am interested in learning more about permaculture and food systems. I know Germany invests heavily in its domestic food production and I am excited about the opportunity to learn more.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    - Excellent communication skills including working with non-native English speakers
    - Excellent experience of vegan/vegetarian cooking on large (50+) and small scales (2-8)
    - Good event organisational skills (arranging cultural events, designing and preparing menus, arranging film nights)
    - Good English teaching skills
    - Good computer skills and excellent digital communication skills
    - Good cleaning and maintenance experience
    - Good decorating, construction and home-renovation experience
    - Good experience with art projects including performance and clothing construction
    - Plenty of experience running political/social workshops, as I did this a lot as a student in Sweden
    - Experience in political activism. A lot of practical skills but also coordination, mediation, and awareness training
    - I'm good at thinking of practical solutions and have a logical mind when it comes to work

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am a native English speaker and would happily assist anyone in practising and studying the language - I have a qualification to teach English to both adults and children. I have been taking night classes in German since summer 2019, and am very eager to improve my speaking and reading abilities. I studied in Sweden for 1 year and have a very basic grasp of the language.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    The vast majority of my diet is vegan, that is without meat, milk, eggs, cheese, or any other animal products. However, I like to sample local cheeses and some times allow myself to try other special dishes (with dairy but without meat). I am happy to be flexible with my veganism if that is easier for hosts, and I am experienced and happy to cook for myself and others on a regular basis. My food tastes are quite affordable - vegetables, rice, and spices.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Horses

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan / vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback