Sam & Henry

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2019 - 24/09/2020

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! Sam and Henry here. In September 2019 we quit our jobs in Seattle to travel for 6+ months around Asia and New Zealand and Australia.

    Our first four months have been spent gardening, teaching English, helping with home renovation projects, taking care of children, writing manuals in English and helping with community projects.

    Sam has completed 8 WorkAways now. From organic farming to childcare to teaching english; she enjoys anything that pushes her outside of her comfort zone and teaches her something new. Back home she is a preschool teacher, but has also worked the wine harvest in oregon, the coffee harvest in Hawaii and enjoys gardening with children.
    Henry has loved the cultural exchanges he has experienced since joining WorkAway in September. Back home Henry works in an office in downtown Seattle and enjoys running and cycling and anything related to sustainability and the environment.

    From picking grapes with students in the mountains, pottery lessons with local artists to family style dinners; getting to know new people from different countries than our own has exceeded all of our expectations.

    As we continue on our journey until May or so 2020, we hope to keep crafting new skills through hands on help, and in exchange we would love to learn more about your country’s culture!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Skills include: child care, English teaching, front desk reception, housekeeping, gardening, pet/animal care, computer basics, cooking

    Skills since joining WorkAway include: harvesting citrus fruits, avocados, and coffee, pruning, painting outdoor structures, preparing delivery orders, chopping wood, weed whacking\strimming, rototilling, weeding, sowing seeds, lawn mowing, planting and transplanting flowers and trees, childcare, caretaking an AirBnB guesthouse

  • Languages spoken

    English and basic Spanish

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • Nationality

    Dual American and Canadian citizen

  • What else ...

    Here is an update on our WorkAway plans:
    October, Okayama prefecture, Japan
    November, Shizuoka prefecture, Japan
    December, Central Java, Indonesia
    January, Kathmandu, Nepal
    February, Goa, India
    End of March/April, looking for hosts in New Zealand

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Learning to drive a tractor in Ireland
Rotovating at MyFlowerPatch in Upavon

Feedback