Samantha

  • Germany
  • Login to see the last activity

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling

  • Description

    I love travelling and adventures, new experiences and to learn new skills - and I hope to fill the next half year with all of that! :)

    Since I will start my masters degree at the School of Archaeology in Dublin in September I am planning to travel through the Irish countryside and get to know everything that isn't the capital, but the people, and the sheep, and the beautiful nature. I'm also interested in doing a little stint in Iceland because travelling there has been a dream of mine for quite some time now. Everything in Northern Europe is currently on my bucket list - but wherever I end up, I know I'll have a blast.

    I'm flexible when I'm travelling because I have a lot of experience with it: I've already travelled through Canada on my own, lived in Germany, the UK and Czechia and been around Europe quite a bit. Wherever I go, I always make sure to at least know how to say 'thank you' in the local language.

    Languages are a passion of mine, as are literature, philosophy and the sciences - to be honest I'm interested in basically everything. My hobbies are watching motorsport, reading and photography, and I enjoy movies, cooking and going for hikes as well. I am a big believer in social equality and always ready to step up for others to amplify their voices, or to help people out when I'm able to. I think that's why I'm so interested in work&travel: I would love to help people with things they are passionate about, their personal projects and to experience new cultures.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My academic skills are probably my biggest strength - I have a bachelors degree in philosophy, but I'm not travelling to write essays! I'm a good teacher though and have tutored before. Apart from anything literature/writing related and tutoring school subjects, I have taught German, English and French and I'd be happy to do that again. I also have extended first aid knowledge because of past medical experience in nursing.
    Apart from that I'm a great cook and I enjoy baking as well. I often help my grandma with her house and house-sit for her, and she has a huge garden I'm sometimes allowed to dig a hole or two in. My archaeology interest makes me very skilled at digging, but it's a rather niche skill - normal garden work is something I can do, too. I'm physically fit and enjoy physical work.
    Other 'handy' skills of mine are mostly based on a great improvisation talent and a bit of MacGyver-ing. :D
    I'm a quick study, so generally if you show me how to do something, I'll be able to do it. And I'll be excited to learn something new!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Latin: Intermediate
    Greek: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I speak German and English fluently at native level, proficient French, intermediate Spanish, can translate Latin and there's a whole array of languages where I'm at a beginners level, but currently I'm learning Greek. I can teach German, English and French. I would love to learn literally any language whatsoever, even if it's just a couple of phrases! :) Super interested in learning Irish though.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I love road trips and driving, have driven on the right and left. I love hiking and nature in general! I feel like I haven't said that enough. I adore sunsets, but I strive to pay more attention to sunrises as well.
    I like socialising, whether it's with board games, meals, trips or just conversations, but I do need some time to recharge my social batteries as well. :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Birch pollen, cross allergy to stone fruit

    • Special dietary requirements
      Because of my allergy I can't eat raw stone fruits (mainly apples, cherries, peaches, nectarines). They're fine when they're cooked though. I'm an Almost-Vegetarian. I eat meat if there is no other option (except for pork), and fish is okay.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback