Sally

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cyprus

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/10/2020 - 20/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi!
    I'm an enthusiastic and energetic Australian, a writer of adventure novels and a language teacher (English and Japanese). I enjoy meeting new people, especially from different cultures, and finding out about their lives. I love food – mostly eating it, but that is why I love to cook too. I'm always hunting for new dishes – especially home cooking.

    I left Australia a year ago and have been working and doing workaways since then. I started with three months in Tangier in Morocco, a bit of time in Normandy in France and southern Italy, and then London in March.

    I have also lived and worked in Australia, Japan and China - I love sharing language and culture with anyone, and quickly become the go to source of information wherever I'm staying. I have wanted to return to Greece since I was here many years ago - I spent 3 fabulous months working in greenhouses in Crete - and have finally made it back!!

    I lived in Japan for five years and spent the weekends there exploring, especially hunting down local festivals, the hot spring onsen baths and good food. I loved watching the seasons change over the paddy fields and the mountains beyond them.

    I grew up on sheep and cattle farms in Australia (and yes, pets included baby kangaroos), and I still love the outdoors. My last job in Australia was a meter reader - a job I loved because I got to spend all day outdoors enjoying the fresh air, make many dog friends, a couple of kangaroo ones, some cats - one of which always followed me for several blocks, some chickens which also followed me, and a pair of alpacas.

    I love history, local stories and mysteries, and all of the arts. My creative passion is writing thriller-adventure-mystery stories which are all tangled up in history and everything that I am passionate about - different countries and cultures, languages and food. (including a story that starts in Greece).

    I am friendly, open-minded and respectful, and get along with people of all ages. I like to do a good job, and I am happy to help out on any projects. I love being with animals and children, and being near the beach and in nature. I also love movies. I'm happy to paint and work in the garden, and I will try out new things and learn new skills. I can also knit, sew and crochet.

    The world truly is an amazing place! The hardest part is choosing where to explore next.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am resourceful and willing to learn and try out anything new. I have done everything from ploughing, fencing and chasing cattle on the farm I grew up on, to painting, and working in greenhouses in Crete. A lot of time being away from home has taught me what tourists and travelers want. I am friendly and able to talk and relate to almost anyone.

    I lived in Japan for five years teaching English to children and adults, spending hours painting cards for my classes. My favourite parts of Japan were the hot spring baths, and roaming around the countryside checking out festivals and local food specialities. I love exploring food, and learning to cook new dishes.

    In Australia I taught Japanese to Aboriginal children, a professional football team, and many groups of children. I took my two small children with me to Hong Kong for two months, and later for a teaching job in China. I took them to all sorts of interesting places, but when we talk about it, they just remember the dinosaur park with the roller coaster ride, and the hamburger restaurant that was set up as a jungle!

    I’ve helped friends paint their houses, and my own. I know a lot about growing maples, and I am happy working in the garden. My father had an ostrich farm, and my uncle still has an alpaca farm.

    I have cared for children, animals, older people and people with disabilities. I love to cook and learn new recipes and tricks, and I love being creative in all sorts of ways, including sewing and knitting, with a pet love of amigurumi and cross stitch bookmarks. I raised my children bilingually. When they were little I used to sing to them, though very, very badly! I did better at writing children’s stories for them.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    59

  • What else ...

    I am passionate about people, languages, cultures, and travel - that is why I am a languages teacher and write action-adventure novels that visit all the interesting and exotic places I come across. I love to exchange cultural information, and I am fascinated in local history, trivia and mysteries and local dishes. But I also love animals and being outdoors, and trying anything new. I have started relearning the little bit of Greek I knew from my previous visit.

    I am friendly and open-minded. I like to do a good job, and I'm quite happy to get my hands dirty. I enjoy being with animals and children and meeting new people. Strangers, after all, are just friends I haven’t yet got to know. If I don’t know how to do something, I’m more than happy to try it out. If you’re willing to show me what to do, I am keen to give anything a try.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback