Rosy & Henry

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/09/2019 - 29/02/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are Rosy and Henry, a mature, married couple with two grown-up children. Our home is in Edinburgh, Scotland's Festival City. Currently, we are enjoying a sabbatical from our work as primary school teacher and artist and being free to explore the world. We are both passionate about the arts and so we run an arts and well-being studio where art and basket making are taught, music, drama, dance rehearsals and events take place and pilates and yoga are practised. Henry plays mbira and we both love West African percussion, drumming and dance. We are fast walkers, keen cyclists, happy gardeners, enthusiastic vegetarian/vegan cooks, and novice yogis. In recent years, we have hosted many workawayers, been active workawayers ourselves and have enjoyed the cultural exchange. Now, we are ready for new challenges and adventures and eager to travel. We would especially like to meet people who can teach us new skills. As we are creative, practical and have a lifetime's worth of various skills we can turn our hands to most tasks. Since we are keen to improve our Italian, Italy would be our destination of choice. However, we would consider other locations depending on the experiences and opportunities these would provide.
    Before contacting us with a proposal, please read our profile carefully so that you are fully aware of the type of help we offer. Consider also the hopes and expectations we have from any exchange and make your needs and expectations explicit.
    At the present moment, our preference would be to work 3 hours a day, 5 days a week in exchange for bed and breakfast only. An independent living space would suit us best or at least access to a kitchen so that we could prepare our own lunch and dinner. However, we'd be happy to have cooking as part of our remit and to share a meal together on occasion. Alternatively, we would be interested in house or cat sitting. So that we can explore our new surroundings in our free time, we would hope to find frequent and reliable public transport to and from your place to the nearest town or to places of natural beauty or interest.
    Also, to enable us to met some work requirements of our own, we would need to be assured of a strong, uninterrupted internet connection.
    Although we both adore children and have experience and expertise in childcare and education, please do not contact us if you are looking for a babysitter as we are seeking cultural experiences, new challenges, adventures and learning opportunities.
    Please don't ask us to work for you if you are a business unless you are prepared to offer us payment at the local rate in addition to accommodation.
    Workaway is an organisation based on mutual exchange, openness and trust and we are committed to these wonderful ideals. However, when we find ourselves in situations where we feel abused, exploited or if our safety is compromised, be advised, that we will not uphold any prearranged agreement.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Art - painting & craft
    Arts Festival set-up/management
    Cooking (vegetarian/vegan) & bread making
    Decorating & Interior design
    Gardening
    Home maintenance/makeovers
    House & cat sitting
    Language teaching- English & beginner level Italian
    Music - guitar, mbira, percussion & hand drumming

  • Languages spoken

    English, beginner level Italian and a little French

  • Age

    57 & 56

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    If you invite us to join you in Italy, please be prepared to talk to us in Italian throughout the duration of our stay so that through full immersion, we will be able to develop greater confidence and fluency in speaking your beautiful language.

    Our credentials for invitation to participate in future workaway projects are the feedback comments and ratings left by our hosts, so,if you invite us to join you, please take the time to write positive but fair feedback about our time spent with you. In return, we will of course give you positive but fair feedback and recommendation.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian/vegan

Feedback