Ross G

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    I had a long career with the Canadian federal government in finance and administration. I am a capable handyman. I worked as a waiter, bartender, first aid instructor, and swim instructor in my early years. I have backpacked through seven continents in the last several years. I have previous experience as a volunteer in France and South Africa and as a workawayer in Aruba. (2015) and Dominica (2016) and Ecuador (2017 and 2020). I have five adult children and nine grandchildren. I am 69 years old, in excellent health, active and fit, I do not like to be idle. I am a quiet non-drinker, non-smoker. I enjoy being busy and then relaxing on a warm, quiet beach.

    Reviews from previous hosts:
    2018
    Ross was, in a word, A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! He truly was the hardest working Workaway we have ever had. He worked above and beyond the hours we asked and, in addition to doing everything we gave him, tackled other projects of his own initiative that were real improvements for us. He was lso friendly, easy going and pleasant to be around. Everyone in our community really enjoyed getting to know and spend time with him. He stayed with us for 3 months and we were so sad to see him go. If you are fortunate enough to have him apply for your Workaway position, do yourself a favor and say ‘yes’ as fast as you can! Ross, we will truly miss having you around and as we’ve said before, you would be so welcome back any time!

    2020
    Feedback left by host (Help us with general ...) for you

    Ross was one of the best volunteers we had. He is dependable, gives you an honest day’s work. He will automatically continue the job the next day; you do not have to tell him what to do over and over. If he finishes the job and your not around, he will automatically start cleaning or gardening without been told.
    We Highly recommend him

  • Interests

    Beach
    Charity work
    Carpentry
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Handyman, construct small buildings, can do flooring, drywall, painting, install doors/windows, minor electrical, mow lawns, landscaping, (see my photo album)

    Career in finance and administration, ability to organize.

    Bartender/waiter, swim instructor in my youth.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    63

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I am an excellent swimmer. I am currently travelling in Colombia and am interested in working anywhere in the country but want to be near a quiet beach.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback