Richard

From: Portugal

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/01/2019 - 01/01/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Richard, I'm a 30 year old swede looking for an opportunity anywhere in Portugal to contribute something of value.

    As an empath I very much like making others around me feel comfortable - whether it is a calm conversation or by initiating social interaction. I love giving and receiving hugs, and enjoy immersing myself in deep and interesting conversations, as well as practicing languages and sharing stories from my travels to 40 countries.

    I'm in my element while hiking, working with others on a meaningful project, playing sports or board games, or cosying up next to a fireplace with a dog or cat. I love animals, having grown up around dogs, cats, rabbits, chickens, a horse, gold fish, a turtle, and even a talking parrot.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Having lived in 6 countries on 3 continents, and travelling to 40 countries thus far, I know from personal experience what it takes to create a good experience for guests and fellow travellers, having been one myself in countless places. My travels have enabled me to become highly adaptable and a quick learner, evidenced by the fact that I speak 5+ languages which I am never shy to use whenever I meet people.

    I really enjoy spontaneous social interaction, something which motivated me to work as a bartender twice, as well as as a ward host in a private hospital ward (responsible for welcoming and ensuring the general wellbeing and dietary requirements of patients). Along with developing my customer relation skills, these jobs also taught me to be detail-oriented and highly diligent with regards to routine tasks like cleaning and maintaining a friendly environment.

    Academically I hold a masters degree in mechanical engineering, and that education taught me many skills that come in handy on a daily basis.

    I'm savvy with computers - having for example previously worked for a Fortune 500 technology consultancy company, and I also have some experience with video editing.

    Beyond qualifications and strong communication and language skills, I'm tall (6'3'') and more than happy to do manual labour with a smile on my face. I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty, having for example emptied an entire barn of 2 feet of sheep manure on an earlier trip to Alaska.

    I have a great passion for the outdoors, whether it is the beach or the ocean. I am a licensed PADI open-water scuba diver, and my interest in hiking and general survival skills has taught me to be very creative and resourceful in finding solutions to various problems.

    I have a clean driving license (category B), as well as plenty of experience in driving quad bikes, having explored the off-road trails of the Sintra mountains on numerous occasions.

    I'm not an expert chef, but I have a healthy appetite and enjoy getting involved in cooking. Recently I've learned some secrets for making good salads, as well as the basics of making delicious soups!

    I am an extremely fast and willing learner, and would be delighted to learn and develop new skills to suit the needs of my host. I believe nothing is impossible with enthusiasm!

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent: English, Portuguese, and Swedish. Conversational Spanish and French.

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Swedish and Brazilian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback