Rachael

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Current Travels:
    I am currently committed to hosts through October 2021. Thanks!
    _______

    In January 2021, I left my job in the FinTech industry to pursue a different way and pace of life. Through Workaway I’m seeking to create meaningful and fun experiences by seeing the world and connecting with interesting people along the way!

    I live to learn and aim to both expand my skills and provide help to hosts through Workaways. I am particularly interested in culture/language exchanges and learning more about sustainability, food production, and gardening practices. One day I would like to grow my own food, so I’m looking to expand my skills in this area.

    I am conscious about the environment, so I aim to live a low-waste lifestyle and eat a vegan diet. In my free time, I love being active and outdoors. I took up cycling last year and got up to 50 mile long rides, and my goal is to reach at least 100 mile rides this year. As a Coloradan, I've climbed many 14ers (14,000 ft. mountains), and running and hiking are also favorites. All this is to say that I am happiest when outdoors, and am more than glad to assist with any workaway tasks you may have for me. For me, nature brings a certain peace and contentment that I can't find anywhere else.

    What I most value in life: meaningful conversations, connecting with nature, working hard, good food, exchanging culture/thoughts/ideas/language

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    Self development

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    SKILLS/EXPERIENCE:
    -Landscaping/Garden work
    -->including experience with machetes, axes, pickaxes, lawn mowers, weed wackers
    -->experienced in spending many hours harvesting
    -->most recent personal home project was xeriscaping to minimize water use
    -painting (murals and general painting)
    -healthy cooking
    -good with technology
    -childcare

    Even if I haven’t had experience with a certain task, I can guarantee a positive attitude and strong willingness to learn.

    Other things to know:
    - Very tidy
    -self-initiative (I like keeping busy)
    -physically active (running/cycling)
    - welcomes hard work/sweat equity
    -easygoing personality, often described as an old-soul

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would love to learn any new languages or share what I know

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I come with an open mind and ready-to-work attitude
    I am most looking forward to exchanging life experience and growing as a person.
    Many thanks in advance to the hosts who open their homes!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback