Peter

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/02/2020 - 29/02/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    21

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    I'm an avid traveller, nature lover and long time resident of the beautiful Catskill Mountains of New York. I am a retired emergency services worker experienced in adult teaching and volunteer management. I'm passionate about dancing, gardening, hiking, biking, beach combing, photography, domestic and foreign travelling, and engaged conversation. I'm very open to different cultures and peoples; I've enjoyed hosting international travellers and have visited several countries. I enjoy a good project and seeing it through to completion.
    I'm compassionate, moderate, humble, trustworthy, respectful, loyal, active, health conscious and experienced in many areas of life. I'm an environmentalist, conservationist and conversationalist. My habits are rather non-American; I dislike consumerism and materialism. I like vegan/vegetarian cuisine and appreciate all good food.
    I carry my own health/injury insurance for each trip; documentation is provided upon request.
    I would enjoy hearing from you.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Analysis and creative problem solving, adult teaching, organic gardening, bee keeping, automotive/machinery repair, cooking, carpentry/construction, house electrical, plumbing, masonry, PV solar electrical, customer service, AirBnB hosting, hand sewing, Linux operating systems and heavy truck driving.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    60

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I've worked with and lead emergency medical volunteers for 20+ years as a Paramedic and Fireman. Volunteered with a bio-diesel cooperative and lead the bio-diesel reactor building team. Worked in an automotive repair shop as a customer service representative and mechanic. I've worked with computers since 1982, mainly Linux since 2004. I've restored cars, renovated houses, planted trees and scrubs, hand dug a foundation and a grave once. I am no stranger to hard work, but I am not as fast or strong as I was in my youth. I'm still fit and without any health issues.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Spring lettuce 2015
Sevilla, ES. 2014
In the VW camper van.
Donna and me 2016 summer.
On a walk 10/10/16.
Uruguay 2016: Rebuilding a bed frame for Martha.
Uruguay 2016: Louis cooking on the parrilla.
Uruguay 2016: A small masonry project I completed at Louis and Sonja's.

Feedback