Noah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/07/2019 - 18/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    My name is Noah and I recently graduated college in Boston, MA. I studied mechanical engineering as well as engineering management. Because of this, my interests definitely lie in the hands-on area. Anything from fixing a cracked tile to painting a bench I'm willing to help out with / learn how to help out with. I also love people. Through my engineering management classes, I became fascinated with learning about how people's lives are different from mine. I believe that a good conversation is the best way two people can get to know each other. South America has interested me since I was in high school and I would love to spend an extended amount of time down there at some point in my life. I think this is the perfect opportunity to do so.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Something that I think will be very useful for this program is that I am very proficient in Spanish. I have taken Spanish language classes for 8 years and have also participated in an exchange with a student from Uruguay. I also went to Argentina for two weeks last winter (I'm looking to stay in South America for a little longer this time). As I mentioned previously, building / fixing things is my passion. I know generally how things work but if I don't know something specific, I am very eager to learn. And finally, speaking with people (especially in Spanish) is something that makes me tick. I have a group of friends from college who, when we link up, only speak in Spanish. It's a great way to socialize and brush up on your Spanish at the same time.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    Although South America in general interests me a lot, I want to travel specifically to Colombia for a few reasons. Firstly, I met a few friends in college from Colombia and they never ceased to tell me how cool their culture was. They never laughed at my curiosity and mentioned that a program like this would really cater to my interests in their country. Secondly, I've heard that Colombian Spanish is the prettiest and easiest to understand. As an English speaker who is always learning how to speak Spanish, I think this would be the most helpful to my learning of the language. Finally, while it will be my summer in July, it will be winter in South America. Given this, coupled with the fact that I want to be in a warm climate this summer, Colombia seems to be a great option for me.


    The thing that I am most excited about this potential trip is the people that I imagine myself meeting. In my previous experience in South America, the people were unlike anywhere else. Not only are they super polite, they are excited to learn about you and what you are currently doing in your life. When you walk past a stranger and they smile at you, you feel welcome in that place no matter how foreign it is to you. I am very excited to share my experiences with others from a different part of the world in return for learning about their experiences. For example, in my culture, when getting to know someone, we like to tell funny stories, have a beer or two, share music, and sometimes even have a dance battle. I would love to see what people that are a part of other cultures do to get to know each other.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback