Jenny

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Portugal - from Dec 2021
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Jenny and I am 40 years old.
    What makes me happy: being outside, travelling, art, yoga, meditating, creating and building things, working in the (vegetable) garden, socializing with family and friends (but I also enjoy being alone), not doing the same things every day, year in year out and I like to learn new things.

    My partner is Stefan and we are together for more then 20 years. We've been living, working and travelling together a lot, but we also like to do things on our own.

    After 10 years of running a little company together with Stefan (consisting of a Bed&Breakfast, a care farm for people with a disability, and we designed and built furniture and pieces of art), we felt like moving to another place. But first we are travelling for a not specified amount of time . Last year we travelled through Europe by bicycle and with a tent and after a couple of months in the Netherlands, we decided to buy a little van, to have our home on wheels to travel through Europe again.
    During our travels I really enjoyed the workaway places. I love the workaway concept!
    I like to combine my travels with staying somewhere for a while to make myself useful / to contribute, getting to know people better, to learn new things, etc.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Art & design
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I studied social works /pedagogics and worked for almost 20 years with adults and children with a mental and/or fysically disability and behavorial problems. The last 10 years, I worked with disabled people on our own care farm.
    Last year I did a yoga teacher training, so I just started to teach yoga.


    I am patient, enthousiastic, adventurous, creative, interested in others, a hard worker and willing to learn new things.
    I am a positive person and I think in solutions, not in problems.
    I care about the environment.

    I really like to work with my hands. Together with some professionals we renovated my grandparents historical farmhouse, before we started living and working there.
    Everything we could do by ouselves, we did (like carpenting, painting, putting wallpaper on walls, renewing floors, decoration, making streets, creating paddocks, fields and fences, repairing and fixing things, cleaning, making wallpaintings, designing and all kinds of DIY). Recently somebody teached me how to plaster walls.

    We also decorated a few houses and public buildings, while using a lot of second hand materials and utensils.

    I do blockprinting, which means I can design and create patterns on walls, paper, fabrics (curtains, table cloths, bags, etc). I also make stamps by myself.
    I can also make things on a sewing machine.

    On our care farm we had some animals and a big vegetable garden.
    I like to make things like jams, syrup etc. and also our own organic washing detergent, shampoo and cleaning detergent.
    I'm also interested in using herbs and using natural home remedies. I believe in the self-healing ability of body and mind.

    When we were travelling all over the world, we often bought a car, that we sold again after our trip.
    During the journeys I 've had some jobs for a couple of months. Mostly picking fruit and pruning, but also working in a bar.
    During my studies I worked at a holiday park, doing al types of work (reception, cleaning, bar, restaurant, gardening).

    I can work as well independently as in a group very well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    41

  • What else ...

    I do have some good experiences with house exchange and working abroad.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback