Neil

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Jordan, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2021 - 31/08/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Neil from Edinburgh, Scotland. I'm currently a second-year student at Leiden University in The Netherlands. Previously I spent 3 years studying Arabic (and the Middle East in general) and hope to continue traveling in the region for many more years :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Effective public relations skills (communication, mediation etc.) from working/volunteering in a number of positions within a public setting.

    In my last Workaway position I volunteered in a backpacker's hostel in the Old City of Nablus, Palestine.
    My last work position was as front of house in a high-end bar in Edinburgh where I was tasked with multiple responsibilities ranging from customer service to maintenance of the bar.


    In addition to this, I have spent almost the entirety of the last 4 years travelling/studying in an international environment and have gleaned a lot of experience in living with people from a variety of countries and cultures.

    Languages: fluent in English, and Advanced level In Classical Arabic. Currently learning Levantine Arabic and Dutch.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    Backpacking has been my main hobby for several years, I try to spend at least 2 months a year travelling to different countries every year.

    Also living in Scotland and The Netherlands I pursue long-distance mountain biking/bike camping

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback