Nadine & Stella

From: New Zealand & Croatia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/05/2020 - 31/10/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    From Nadine... Hi! I am a 28-year old backpacker hailing from the easternmost corner of the US. After studying Sociology and Art History in university, I worked for a few years in the arts nonprofit sphere, chiefly in communications and fundraising. In 2017, I packed up and left for a two-year adventure around Australia (from the coast to the desert to the forests and the tropics). Since October, I have been living and working in Queenstown, NZ and am now looking to head further north to learn some skills related to community development, permaculture and self-sufficiency. I am a lover and maker of the arts and music, interested in nutrition and sustainability and passionate about people in general. Thank you for reading!

    Nadine’s volunteering experience:
    2020 - Building, painting, gardening and household maintenance as part of local family in Fox River (New Zealand)
    2018 - Planning art education workshops for printmaker/illustrator in Melbourne (Australia)
    2017 - Leading art classes for differently-abled people as part of dynamis (Germany)
    2017 - Teaching refugee girls and women how to ride bikes with #BIKEYGEES (Germany)
    2017 - Assisting in reducing food waste at Berliner Tafel (Germany)

    From Stella... Hi Workaway community, my life has always somehow revolved around exploring the unknown - new places, new ideas, or new people. I'm most passionate about learning by doing and most of all sharing and combining experience, skills and information to new concepts that help to make the world a better place to live. My personality is up to new challenges, I am able to learn fast and do tasks independently. Through a variety of volunteering experiences I am looking to combine passions and interests to learn more about organic farming, sustainability, permaculture, community living - How do they work in practice? Which principles do they lean on? These are just some of the questions I was asking myself that led me towards Workaway projects and their visions. Besides that, I truly enjoy the simple life and nature, being in the mountains, hiking and camping - exploring the unfamiliar yet being present and respecting something bigger than ourselves.

    Stella’s volunteering experience:
    2020 - Painting, general maintenance, gardening; family household in Fox River (New Zealand)
    2019 - Teaching English language, Jackma English School (Vietnam)
    2019 - Organic farming & promotion activities, EcoDream Farmstay (Vietnam)
    2019 - Hospitality & painting, gardening La Casa Shambala (Thailand)
    2019 - Permacultural farming,Pranporpiang Farm (Thailand)

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Nonprofit management
    Computer and design
    Violin, viola, voice
    Hospitality and housekeeping
    Babysitting
    Yoga and meditation

    Eager to learn: gardening, building and more art-making

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    28 & 30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan, but not picky and able to provide for myself :)

Feedback