Micaël

  • France
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (5)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling


    In Moshi, Tanzania at the moment. Looking to explore the Usambara mountains and the coast of Tanzania (Dar es Salaam, Tanga? Pangani?) before coming back to Arusha. Anyone with similar plans?

  • Description

    Hey everyone!

    I'm a 28 yo History and Geography teacher. This year I could get some time off from work, and I thought it's be nice to spend it volunteering somewhere around the world. I'm happy to leave my classroom for a bit and travel, meet new people, make new experiences. I'd be ready to do all kinds of work as long as I can help you, your family, or the community.

    So here's a bit about me: I was born in Norway but I grew up in southern France, in the countryside, surrounded by vineyards and mountains. Over the past years I've been studying, traveling and working. I've always had a strong interest for other languages, cultures and geography in general, so I took time to make experiences abroad. I lived two years in Germany, then took a gap year during my Master and traveled to New Zeland, Argentina and Chile. Lately, I've been working as a History and Geography teacher in France and in the Netherlands.

    I have many hobbies such as sport, mountain sports, reading, playing all sort of games, cooking together, learning new languages, gardening, playing guitar or volunteering. Over the last years, I've been a member of an NGO assisting migrants in the north of France with food distributions, clothes etc.

    Right now I'd love to put my teaching skills at the service of the unprivileged . But I also have strong interests in humanitarian, agriculture, eco-tourism or language projects.
    Wherever I end up, I believe my jovial attitude and my ability to work with a team can be an asset. Through previous experiences in France and abroad, I'd say that I'm flexible and able to adapt to different people, cultures and situations. I'm also a calm and responsible person who is happy with a job well done.

    Here are a few more facts about me:

    - Ball boy at Roland Garros in 2008
    - Speak 5 languages
    - Learned how to surf in Brazil
    - Worked as a receptionist with 20 other workawayers in a hostel in San Sebastian
    - Worked in a French restaurant in New Zealand
    - Hitch hiked 6000km in South America
    - Moved and found a job abroad during the pandemic
    - Slept with nomads in a yurt in Kyrgyzstan
    - Barely knows how to play guitar but would love to play in the street

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Team sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    - I speak five languages and I've been working as a waiter and receptionist before. I'd feel comfortable working in the field of tourism (guide, hotel, restaurant).
    - I grew up in the countryside and I love nature so I could easily do some gardening, work with animals, help at the farm etc...
    - I'm a History and Geography teacher in secondary schools so obviously I could teach those two materials in French and in English (maybe in Spanish too with a bit of work). Although I'm not a language teacher, I could teach French and English.
    I've been working as a youth animator in summer camps so I'd feel comfortable dealing with a group of teenager in different activities.
    - I like sport and I practice tennis, volley-ball, running... so I feel comfortable working in anything that has something to do with sport.
    - I'd describe myself as a happy and dynamic person. I'm really motivated about helping any fellow human being so I guess I could easily take part to any charity, volunteering, assistance project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I could teach French and English. And I'd be interested to improve my German and my Spanish.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    Last thing, but probably the most important one. I'm christian and it plays a big role in the choices that I make in my everyday life.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Not really a meat lover

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback