Maya

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ecuador

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2018 - 30/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1777

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    Meeting new people and traveling are my favorite things to do and I'm excited to have this wonderful opportunity to combine the two.
    I love to backpack, rock climb, scuba dive, sing, write poetry, dance, be with kids, and learn about the beautiful world and people we're surrounded by.
    I'm currently studying Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, specifically Marine Biology, at Brown University and researching reefs in the Galapagos Islands, Ecuador. When I'm not leading hiking trips, facilitating youth writing workshops, or at chorus rehearsal, you can probably find me at the local art museum or reading in the grass.
    I think almost anything can be accomplished with a strong work ethic, a positive attitude, and an open mind.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Strong biology/ecology/conservation background, Wilderness First Aid and CPR certified, Rescue Diver cert, scientific outreach / teaching experience, excellent communication skills, experience with children of all ages and with animal rescue & rehabilitation.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Russian, learning French/Irish/Hebrew/Spanish

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    United States & United Kingdom

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat meat except for fish!

Feedback