Matthew

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer

Friends (2)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    A 25 year old gardener from Liverpool. I fell in love with travelling at a young age and since being old enough to go it alone I have been doing as much travelling as possible.
    I am a nature lover and I have always had a big adventurous streak. I want to explore the different natural regions of the world and am particularly drawn to remote places.

    I love hiking, camping, nature, working outdoors and pretty much anything else that gets me outside. But whether city or nature, tropical or freezing, I am eager to go there and take in as much as possible.
    I am on Workaway because I want to visit countries and have an authentic experience, and try to deepen my understanding of the world and its workings. I prefer this style of travelling to just seeing the 'highlights' of any particular country.
    Seeing the natural beauty of the world, meeting different people, learning from new experiences, and being outside of my comfort zone in new environments are the things I look forward to when travelling. This is what I hope to achieve through Workaway.

    I have been taking photos since I got my first camera age 14. One of my favourite ways to take in a new country is to go on a long walk with a camera in hand. I have put some of my photography on my profile, but if you would like to see more my Instagram name is @quinn.matthew.

    With my spare time I love to go rock climbing, practice buddhist meditation, read, and work in my garden. Im a very easy going and laid back person who enjoys life. I like to be around people and chat but I am also quite happy in my own company. I am very open to hearing new ideas, trying new things and getting out of my comfort zone.
    I have done lots of physical work in the past which I think has helped me develop a good attitude towards work, I like to go with the flow and always happy to help where I can, especially if it is something I'm new to. I look forward to any volunteering/working opportunity. If you have any questions, please do get in touch.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    - Experienced Gardener. I work as a gardener here in the UK and have had gardening jobs in New Zealand, Australia, and Scotland. This includes weeding, pruning, planting, landscaping, general maintenance. I would love to extend my knowledge and learn about gardening in other countries. I am keen to learn about organic farming as well.

    - Farm work - I have experience in lots of aspects of farming including fruit picking and vegetable harvesting which i did in Australia. This was very physically demanding work, but I enjoy getting stuck in and getting my hands dirty. I worked on farms and vineyards for many months. The physical labour needed to work there involved lots of digging and heavy lifting, but I found this work very rewarding.

    - Physical work/Manual Labour. I would often find work helping locals and hostels around the town I was staying in when travelling in other countries. These jobs included furniture removals, gardening, painting/decorating, and cleaning.

    - Animal Care. In my time in Scotland I looked after lots of farm animals including Ducks, Chickens, Cows, Lambs, Dogs. I have had pets all my life and love looking after animals.

    - Cooking. I love to cook. I worked as a chef in an Italian restaurant for over a year, so I make a great homemade pizza and some good pastas and salads, but i'm trying to expand my skills all the time and want to learn about all types of cuisine.

    - Guest/Customer Care. I have spent a lot of time at home and abroad working in hospitality as a barman and waiter in hotels and restaurants, and have a good understanding of how to treat customers/guests and how to be helpful to them. This skill has transferred well when volunteering in hostels in the past.

    - Graphic Design. I studied animation and motion graphics in university and college, it is a hobby I began when I was a teenager. I have an aptitude for designing graphics and video editing using adobe softwares. In the past I have made designs for university projects and have created magazine covers for a friend's project.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I listen to every kind of music there is and love discovering new artists. I love to share music with other people!

    I also love to read. Anything scientific, anthropological, historical, philosophical, adventure. My favourite authors are Jon Krakauer, Bill Bryson, and Yuval Noah Harari.

    Im always trying to do as many sports as I can, I do a lot of swimming, bodyweight workouts and hiking. I try to make time for yoga and I am a big lover of bouldering.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback