Marian

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Antilles, Aruba, Barbados, Cook Islands, Croatia, France, Greece, Malaysia, Malta, Portugal, St Maarten, Thailand, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • number of facebook friends

    N┬║ of Facebook friends

    199

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am an active, fit, just-retired teacher with a passion for travel of all kinds. I am the mother of 2 adult children, both of whom I introduced to travelling and who turned out to be wonderful global citizens. I have been fortunate to have travelled a lot but I have only stayed for a few weeks in a location and never truly immersed myself in another culture, so therefore I would prefer longer stays. I have retired early to make this dream come true with the help of Workaway! So far I have been fortunate to have done 3 Workaway placements. The first was in Laos where I managed a butterfly park on my own for 10 weeks - this involved supervising Laotian staff, dealing with tourists from all over and training new Workaway volunteers. My second placement was teaching English near Hanoi, Vietnam. The third was also in Vietnam and was at a cat shelter and cafe. It involved cleaning up after the cats and serving guests at the cafe.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a very organized, tidy, reliable individual who has been described as having a warm personality. I am an outgoing person with strong communication skills, both verbal and written. I am computer literate, however, I cannot trouble-shoot computer problems. Adventurous by nature, I have a passion for exploring and learning about other cultures. I have taught all ages of students, including adults, and I have taught all subjects! Most recently, I have been volunteering to teach English to a refugee family in my hometown. Besides being an experienced teacher, I am also a good pupil myself; willing and able to learn new things. In 2017, I learned how to be a deckhand on a sailboat! My gardening experience is limited to my own small garden but I would love to learn more!

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, some French

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    My interests and activities are travelling, hiking, running, gym, yoga, skiing, kayaking, scuba-diving, reading, baking, pets (especially cats), gardening, nature, conservation, photography and making on-line photo-books of my travels.
    I am currently learning meditation and mindfulness.
    I have many excellent work and character references, as well as unsolicited letters of commendation from administrators, colleagues, students, parents of my students and community members that I would be happy to share.

    PLEASE NOTE: My travel plans and Workaway placements are all arranged for 2019. I will not be able to accept any more offers of placements for this year. Thank you so much for all your inquiries.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback