Magdalena

  • Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    The short version: Arts, Plants, Travel, Sustainability, Connecting and Storytelling! :)

    My next destination:

    France - from Sep 2021
    View all
  • Description

    * Currently in France, countryside near Bergerac - 08.06.22 *
    * back in Dordogne mid June, then back up to Bretagne *

    Hi there! I've packed up my settled life of six years and am going back to living without a set base. Looking to wander and connect with people, places and projects along my way :)

    Open minds and hearts, sustainable thoughts, lots of plants and animals and a fireplace to tell stories around are always a great plus!

    As an illustrator, I'm also a big fan of storytelling and would love to tell stories about the places I see and the people I meet there with my art (you can see some of it here if you're interested: magdalenaadomeit.com (still working on the website :) ) or instagram @magdalenaadomeit).

    My last home base was/is in Italy, which is why the profile says that's where I'm from. Although I do have family there, I'm originally from Germany, which is also where I've spent most my life - apart from a year in Canada, some longterm travels around the world and some months in Italy. I speak reasonable italian if you're not too bothered about grammar but my native tongue is german. I also speak english fluently and my french is getting there too!

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Blogging
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    Self development

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I'm an illustrator and absolute plant enthusiast.
    On my travels I have often worked for food and lodging, be that as a waitress at a hostel bar or painting murals and signs. I am happy to cook (I eat vegetarian, so that's most of my repertoire), to garden, paint, clean, or lift heavy things (although I may not be able to carry them very far). Always happy to dig my hands into some fresh earth or a pitchfork into some manure if that should apply to your place. My gardening skills are purely experience-based, same goes for most my skills really, however I'm a very avid collector of new experiences, so always happy to help and pick up new tricks!
    I‘ve also worked on a paper route, at a cinema, in a boutique, a cafe, selling flowers on the farmers market and at museums and art shows.

    Chances are I'll be drawing anyway so by the end of my stay there will probably be a few pieces about your place. Happy to do some illustrations or little animations for you if that's something that applies to your place (post cards, murals, website elements, ...).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Swedish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Always intrigued by other languages, the doors they open in another culture and how speaking different languages can make us connect in other ways than just plain conversation (although I am a big fan of conversing). I speak a few and am happy to teach to the best of my knowledge, which however is often more experience-based so I may be lacking in explaining the actual rules of the language.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    * Regarding the drivers license, I have one but have not driven a car in a few years.

    I'm still relatively new to workaway, but please don't let my lack of references put you off - if there are any open questions I'm always available to chat or talk, just message me :)
    On other travels I used platforms like Couchsurfing, Trustroots and Warm Showers. I also seem to be the only (alive) person on the world wide web with my name so feel free to look me up wherever.

    At the moment, for me the strongest pull for a destination is France, however I am always open for new impulses so do not see this as an exclusive.
    Other destinations I feel very drawn to would be going back north towards Sweden or Norway. In summer '21 my base was in (more or less central) Italy. I'm also eager to explore eastern Europe. And Scotland. And the whole world, really. But for now I am more interested in staying in Europe.
    In the end it's about the people and projects more than it is about the country!

    * * Triple vaccinated against you-know-what! * *

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian :)

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback