leanamaaike

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Email verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

  • Description

    Couple:
    Drikus (M): 30 years old; Dutch; speaks Dutch, English and basic German
    Leana (F): 30 years old; Dutch/Swiss; speaks Dutch, French, English, Spanish and very basic Portugese
    Both with a drivers license

    Hello! We are a Dutch couple looking for places in the Balkan starting on the 18th of March 2024 during a few months. We are dreaming of buying our own place of land, like a guesthouse or eco campsite and living a more sustainable life close to nature. We are looking to get inspired on this upcoming trip.

    We will be traveling by van, so we would not necessarily need a bed, but a kitchen and (warm) shower and toilet facilities will be useful. We love the mountains, hiking in nature, swimming in the sea, lakes or rivers and we love animals (especially dogs). We like to learn new things, but are mostly looking for the right connection and a place with a great vibe.

    Drikus (M): is a photographer, motorcycle mechanic and motorbike enthusiast. He is a quick learner and likes a challenge. Has technical experience and some building experience. Prefers to work on technical tasks and learning about self-sufficient living: like working with solar or hydro energy. He is very eager to learn, exchange knowledge and work on more challenging or problem-solving tasks.

    Leana (F): worked at an environmental ngo and as a Dutch language teacher. She has Dutch/Swiss/Italian origins and is vegan. Has some Workaway experience in Patagonia (hostel, camping and permaculture garden), dog sitting, taking care of turtles and lived with cats. Prefers to work with animals or in gardens with vegetables and plants, tree planting, or hostel / B&B work (likes hosting). Likes to teach yoga classes to friends (no official teacher training) or share some exercise together. She also enjoys cooking vegan food.

    During the trip, we will also spend some of our time to work on our recently bought (but very old!) van. Leana might work a few hours a week remotely.

    We hope you can give us a warm welcome and we are so looking forward to our first Workaway experiences together and to discover this, for both of us, new region.

    Any questions? Feel free to message!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Upcoming trip:
    March till June 2024 : Slovenia, Croatia, Montenegro, Bosnia, Albania and Greece

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Hiking
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Beach
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Animals
    Culture
    Yoga / Wellness
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
  • More details about your skills

    Drikus: technical experience, motorcycle mechanic, photography (Photoshop etc.), some building experience, some sewing experience, very handy in general and a quick learner
    Leana: hosting / receptionist, baby sitting (au pair), pet sitting (cats and dogs), language teaching, project management, eager to learn more about gardening and tree planting

  • Age

    30 & 30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Friends

Feedback