Laura

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/08/2019 - 19/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1052

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Laura and I'm 24 years old. I was born and raised on a potato farm in Ireland (the quintessential Irish stereotype) and have been wandering about the globe since the moment that I turned 18.

    I have spent my past five summers working in the White Mountains of New Hampshire in the USA as the director of an outdoor program at a summer camp, combining my passions of hiking, travel & working with kids. During these summers, I've had the opportunity to travel quite extensively around the US, Canada and Central America and they have been the most incredible experiences of my life.

    A handful of my passions include music, sustainable living & agriculture, writing travel & hiking.
    Some of the things that I love and hold dear to my heart include photography, mountains, playing the guitar & singing, swimming in naturally beautiful places, road trips, cold pizza and reading (Steinbeck is my main man).

    I have a passion for good food, coffee & wine and have made it one of my goals for this year to further my education in regard to sustainable agriculture & living in general.

    I'm a very easygoing, friendly person who loves working with & meeting new people. I'm completely fascinated by human beings and the ways in which we interact with one another and our surrounding environment.
    I was raised on a farm and am no stranger to hard work, which I truly enjoy. I take great satisfaction from a job well done and would be happy to assist with whatever chores/tasks that I can. I will always be honest about my capabilities and I hold myself to a high standard with any projects to which I commit. If I don't know how to perform a task, I'll gladly learn.
    I'm very openminded and would love to learn new skills as well as passing on my own. I've worked in the music industry at various points in my life and have a variety of skills that could be useful to you. Such as event planning & logistics, social media marketing & outreach etc.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    General Housework/Maintenance/Help: I grew up on a farm and am no stranger to hard work or manual labour. I'm very tidy and efficient with a great eye for detail. I get a lot of satisfaction from a job well done and find cleaning/tidying/general chores to be very satisfying.

    Childcare: I have been babysitting and working with children for 9 years. From nannying for 6 month old twins to acting as a mentor for 15-17 year olds working on a youth project, I have experience with all ages.
    I have spent the last 5 summers working at a sleep-away summer camp in the USA (think 'The Parent Trap'!) where I direct a programme that takes young people aged from 8-16 on outdoor adventure trips. Here, we take the kids on day hikes, overnight camping trips and longer multi-day backpacking trips. I love working with young people and nurturing a passion for the outdoors, music, good food, travel, books and all of the magical things that life has to be offer!

    Farming: As previously mentioned, I grew up on a farm in rural Ireland. I have also done workaways on an apple farm & cidery where I worked the harvest and pressed apples every day. On an eco-farm and coffee growers in Nepal and on a vineyard in Italy. I am no expert, but I do have a deep-rooted passion for the outdoors and agriculture and am proud of the knowledge that comes with having grown up in a farming community. I'd be happy to help you with any farm chores such as general maintenance, feeding, tending, mending, harvesting etc. Muddy hands make my heart happy! I'm always keen to learn more in this area.

    Music/Music Industry: I have a degree in music business from the University of Sussex in Brighton, UK. I have a very wide, deep knowledge of how the music industry works and would be happy to pass on that knowledge and help you in any way that I can with your business, be it musically related or not!

    Marketing: Through my degree, I studied marketing in great depth. Especially Visual media and Social media marketing. (Facebook, Twitter, webpages & unique, creative ideas). If you need help boosting your online presence, I could definitely come up with some ideas for you and teach you some new tricks of the trade.

  • Languages spoken

    english, irish

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian - I endeavour to be incredibly respectful of all people's dietary choices and am more than happy to prepare meat for you and your family.

Photos

Feedback