George

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/10/2020 - 25/12/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    596

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

Watch my profile video


  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Whilst I have compassion for the fact 2020 has been a particular trying year for many, for me personally it’s been one of immense growth. This year I’ve worked as:

    • a TA in a secondary school for students with social, emotional and mental health needs
    • a care worker in a home battling the impact of COVID-19
    • a volunteer teacher in a bilingual Human Hive Summer School for children aged 4-11 in the Dominican Republic

    All of these experiences have been greatly rewarding in their own way, but the final one this summer showed me how much I value feeling part of a real community. As I spread my roots deeper into my home country over the next 3 months, I am hoping to develop my skills further and continue building these connections. I’m a musician, sportsman and love gardening and the outdoors. I’m committed to going deeper into my yoga and meditation practices. I’m keen to improve my language skills and learn new ones in areas as diverse as construction and embroidery.

    I’ve had incredible experiences with Workaway in India, France and Switzerland as glimpsed in my photos...I can’t wait to add to them!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My previous experiences and skills includes decorating/renovating, dog care, hike guide, gardening (particularly unusual vegetables), music teaching, cooking, bouldering, tennis and yoga to name a few...I intend to continue delving deeper into all of these whilst learning many new skills!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback