Ki

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/09/2018 - 01/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    172

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I am 21 years old, originally from Minnesota, center and north of the United States. Growing up with cold, northern winters, I learned that cold weather is not for me, and combined with a passion to learn and discover, I have begun traveling for 7 or 8 months out of the year to explore new places. Travel for me is the best school in the world; I've learned more about myself and the world around me than I ever could have through an institute or university. I love art, nature, animals, and being outside. I'm very physically active and don't shy away from hard jobs or long hikes in the woods!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm creative and I enjoy hands-on projects. Art of almost any type is something I could help with, whether it is a painting, building, or decorating project. I've done decorative painting, construction work, landscaping, building walls and gardens; generally I enjoy working outside.
    In Minnesota I work on an organic food farm and I have a part time job as a house painter, so I have some previous experiencing farming and professional painting. I love farming because I'm working with the ground, close to the Earth, and watching the plants grow from small seeds to harvest. Food to me is like medicine, and so helping to grow healthy food is something I am passionate about and enjoy. Painting fuels my creative side, and I enjoy seeing ideas come to reality.
    I am only fluent in English, but I can have a basic conversation in Spanish and I understand and can read a bit of Portuguese. During my travels I've had several opportunities to have a language exchange experience with other people. I like teaching and learning, whether it's in the form of an in depth discussion about grammar or just sharing stories.
    As with a lot of things in life, I've learned that you get out of work away what you put into it; I want to help with jobs I enjoy and meet new people along the way who have similar interest as me and can teach me new things. I like the concept of workaway because of the exchange; this isn't just in the form of labor, but also of cultures and ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    English, a bit of Spanish and Portuguese

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    American (USA)

  • What else ...

    Life is full of endless opportunities, and I've found that the work exchange experiences I've had have given me some of the most meaningful lessons I've had so far. Misunderstandings or disagreements are bound to occur, but it is my goal to improve communication and grow from these situations. I strive to do my best, though I know I'm certainly not perfect, and I'm incredibly grateful to the people I've met who have shown me compassion when I make mistakes. I believe that in general, most people are trying to do the best with what they have, and it is important to come back to this basic common ground.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Beacasue of some past health issues I have to be mindful of what I eat. Sometimes it is helpful for me to cook my own meals, but at each place I've volunteered we have found a system that works around food.

Photos

Artwork in Paraty Brazil
A door I painted in Paraty.
Small stools I painted in Porto Alegre.
A swing I helped build; mixing concrete, assembling wood, painting.
Working on a farm in Bofete.
Painting designs on furniture
Little friends in Ecuador
Building a garden wall in Colombia, carrying rocks up a mountain!
Helping with horses on the Galapagos
Land I cleared in preparation for a restaurant parking area

Feedback