Katie

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    United States Minor Outlying Islands
    View all
  • Description

    I am a visual artist, working in sculpture/installation. You can see some of my work here: www.katiebethuneleamen.com
    I've lived in several cities across Canada, and enjoy travel that facilitates me having an understanding of the country or community I am visiting. Toward this end I have been doing many artist residencies over the past years in Paris, Fogo Island (CA), Toulouse, Reykjavik, Montreal, Toronto, etc., with research-based travel to Italy, Japan, Germany, and more. I am currently planning on moving outside of Canada for a while, thinking about going back to university to do my PhD in visual culture. In the meantime, I am looking for a way to be away from Toronto while hopefully having e.g. some horse, yoga, cat, or surf time, under the auspices of an engaged living situation.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a visual artist currently based in Toronto, Canada.
    I generally work as a university instructor teaching sculpture at the art/design university in Toronto as a means to facilitate my art practice.
    I hold a BFA in Art History & Studio Art, and an MFA in Studio Art.
    My sculpture practice is diverse, and has facilitated me acquiring a very broad range of general skills (basic building, metalwork, moulding/casting, etc.).
    I am comfortable with the safe handling and use of many power tools (I like to get a run-through first to make sure I know your particular tools and their quirks)--those I have not used, I would like to learn.
    I deeply enjoy the company of animals, and engaging in their respectful care.
    I am very strong, and really enjoy working hard--especially at work that is a part of something that moves or interest me, including the care and nurturing of animals, sustainable/organic farming/gardening practices, the maintenance of natural spaces and trails, etc.
    I would be very interested in developing more specialised carpentry skills.
    I would also very much love to become better at horseback riding--especially Icelandic horses, which are the brief that I have the most experience with(though I am still very much a beginner).
    Beyond my work as a university instructor, I have worked professionally as a graphic designer, in the film industry, in the service industry, as an editor, gallery director, gallery installation coordinator, etc., and have sat on the boards of several arts organisations (art institutions, artist-run centres, arts publications).
    I am smart, funny, personable, and generally interested and engaged in the world.
    I enjoy running and yoga as my regular activities, and in the warm season use my bicycle as my main means of transport. I adore swimming, would like to become a better horse rider (I have most experience with Icelandic horses), am a enthusiastic dilettante x-country skier, would very much like to learn how to surf, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Age

    48

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (ovo-lacto), gluten intolerant (I know, so tiresome!)

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback