Jule

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2020 - 31/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home


    i am on the islands since the beginning of October and currently in Tenerife :) I am looking for a project here but also always open to get in touch with new people and travel around the island!!

  • Description

    a little update:
    I came to La Gomera at the beginning of October and worked in a WorkAway project there for 1,5 months and have been traveling on La Gomera, La Palma and Fuerteventura since then and joined projects in Tenerife... :)

    -- I am currently in Gran Canaria and looking for a project :)

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    hey you! :))

    Welcome to my profile! I am an 18-year-old girl from Cologne, Germany, who has just graduated high school this year and now wants to take a gap year before starting to study!

    Originally, I was planning on doing a voluntary year abroad in South America but unfortunately due to Covid-19, it got canceled...

    So now I have taken it upon myself to discover new places, gain new experiences and knowledge and meet new people! I am really looking forward to acquiring basically any kind of skill and learn about cultures, people, the environment and pretty much everything... and I am also more than happy to give back, be able to help and maybe share some of the experiences I have gained so far (even though I am not that old yet :)

    I would describe myself as an open-minded and widely interested person. I like working with other people but I also don't mind working or spending time on my own. Generally, I would say that I am quite an independent and a rather calm person who is able to adapt well to different settings and situations. But I am not shy or afraid to talk to new people.

    I am not afraid of physical work, sweat and getting dirty so I would enjoy working outside, doing and learning about artisanal activities or eco-projects. Furthermore, I am interested in working at a hostel to be able to connect with a variety of people.

    So far I have traveled a lot with my family and have also spent one year in the United States as an exchange student. Recently, I have visited Tenerife which I liked a lot so I am looking forward to getting to know more of the Canary Islands!

    Therefore, I speak English fluently (and obviously German) and I have learned Spanish for three years in school and am looking to further improve it!!

    All in all, I would like to experience a different perspective on culture, the world, and people. In my opinion, it is important to promote dialogue and exchange among people of different countries and cultures in order to overcome prejudices. I want to meet new people, make friends, get a better understanding of the world, exchange opinions and cultures, learn from each other and about each other and oneself, have fun, laugh together and make memories for life! :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I find it interesting and exciting to gain new hands-on experience, learn new skills and learn from the challenges that come with it. Because of my passion for sports and crafting, I like to participate in practical and physical activities.

    I already gained experience in this field during my internship at a goldsmith. Therefore, I bring along a lot of patience, perseverance, and creativity. I am also somewhat familiar with living on a farm because my host family in the US lived in the country with goats, chicken, cats and dogs and I do have a dog as well in Cologne. Besides, I am young and in good shape so physical work isn't something that I mind!

    I enjoy DIY projects and upcycling, cooking and learned a few things about gardening from my mother.

    My mother also rents an apartment where I have helped out in the past, so I know the procedure of cleaning, check-in, check-out and communicating with guests.

    All in all, I would say that I pick up on things quite fast and am able to put them into practice on my own. And if I need help or have questions, I am not afraid to ask for help!

    Through my work as a tutor, I also have some experience with teaching and generally with children, and because of my participation in student council and other school-related events, I have some experience with organizing and group leading.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    Other than that, I enjoy doing sports, especially playing tennis, volleyball, soccer and I also enjoy hiking, swimming and surfing. I have some very basic guitar skills and am trying to improve them! Furthermore, I like to read even though I don't spend enough time doing it... In general, I am open to trying new things of course :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback