Josh

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    China, Laos, Thailand, Venezuela, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/03/2014 - 03/05/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, I am from Bristol (Britain) although I have lived & travelled in a number of different countries over the years, including 6 yrs in Spain & 1 yr in Thailand.

    I am a financial controller by profession but have done all sorts over the years - industrial cleaning, building, factory line, teaching, etc. etc.

    In 2013, I finished renovations on my house in Bristol and decided to give up my job of counting other people's money and travel from my home to China, pursuing voluntary opportunities along the Way.

    I particularly enjoy getting out in the countryside & helping with farm work. Working with animals, crops & general upkeep work in fresh, lovely surroundings. However, I do enjoy the chance to join in with all different types of work with good folk, wherever I can.

    I'm quite practical, have got a good dose of common sense & am not afraid of hard work.

    I am a fairly sociable/congenial type of person but am also happy keeping myself entertained & motivated, so am equally happy working alongside others or on my lonesome.

    During my travels, I am hoping to share my skills, labour & company, helping people out as & when needed, as well as learning from interesting projects & people along the Way.

    Any questions, please do not hesitate to drop me a line.

    VOLUNTEERING SO FAR:

    In 2011, I spent a short time helping farmers in Palestine, primarily planting olive trees.

    I began this particular journey at the end of 2013,working on 2 farms in southern Britain, in Somerset & Devon, mainly looking after animals (bison, shire horses, elk, wild boar, geese, chickens, alpacas, etc. etc.) plus some DIY/construction & clearing work.

    In Galicia, Spain, I was looking after a few horses but mainly doing general maintenance/upkeep on the old stone buildings and surrounding fields, pointing stonework, sanding wooden stairs, deep cleaning interiors, clearing brambles, & helping my host family with general tasks.

    I stopped off in FerrolI, Galicia to refurbish a friend’s bathroom (laying concrete & tiling) & help other friends refloor their flat.

    In Tarifa, Andalucia, I helped a family in the 'campo', clearing land, fencing, veggie gardening & helping build a 5 star chicken house.

    Near Faro, Portugal, I helped look after 16 horses/ponies at a riding centre. Mostly mucking out, feeding, cleaning & leading horses, plus a little riding.

    In Tuscany, Italy, I helped clear land in preparation for a chestnut harvest, "weed wacking" up & down the slopes beneath chestnut trees, around the olive trees & fields of lavender. I also helped out with general land maintenance, fencing & gate making at an out of season holiday retreat.

    On an organic farm in Korinthos, Greece I helped with sowing, planting, weeding, picking, washing, sorting & selling a wide range of vegetables plus some general maintenance. Whilst there, I learnt how to drive the farm tractors, mainly around the farm & in the fields for picking, but not for cultivating or ploughing.

    I spent some time helping at an animal rescue centre for horses, ponies (14) & dogs (30) in Kusadasi, Turkey, which involved feeding, cleaning, exercising & general animal care.

    I also spent a couple of weeks helping at Kusadasi marina, for the owner of a 25m wooden yacht who was stripping, repairing & repainting the hull whilst in dry dock.

    Following this, I took a detour to East Africa and, in Kenya, was helping out at a women's refuge/safe house in Naivasha, initially doing maintenance & decorating for the first 6 weeks & then helping with systems & IT setup for their employees, plus some programme management & development.

    I also helped out in Nairobi with a family run printing & design business. This involved production work, photoshop design, deliveries & installations.

    After Kenya, I travelled over to Uganda and spent some time helping a village community who were engaged in a number of self help initiatives. My work was principally helping dig the foundation trenches for a new health centre but I also helped edit their videos for an online crowdfunding campaign & design some publicity materials.

    I spent some time riding through Tanzania before heading down to Malawi where I helped out at a tourist lodge in Nkhata Bay, doing tiling, upholstery (?!?) and other odd jobs.

    In Auroville, India (Tamil Nadu) I was helping out on a small farm/huge garden, planting, clearing land, fencing & general odd jobs.

    On a farm in Chitwan, Nepal, I was helping with the rice planting and digging irrigation trenches.

    Now (end March 2018), after 5 months riding & recuperating in Malaysia & Thailand, I am now about to ride through Laos for a month, on my way to VietNam

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I enjoy working with farm & domestic animals, feeding, cleaning, exercising & general care.
    I am also quite keen on gardening & general farm maintenance/upkeep.
    I have quite a bit of experience in building work although I am not a professional. I have laid parquet, done floor & wall tiling, concrete laying, pointing stone & brick, sanding & finishing wood, minor construction, painting & decorating.
    I can now drive a tractor too! but so far only around the farm & in the fields for picking, no cultivation or ploughing experience.
    In Thailand, in 2018, I qualified as a TEFL teacher during a one month on site course including practical classroom experience with 6 year olds, 15 year olds and adult hotel staff, in both government and temple schools.

  • Languages spoken

    British Spanish

  • Age

    46

  • Nationality

    British Islander

  • What else ...

    I am travelling from country to country with public overland transport & my bicycle. As such, I am sometimes at the mercy of punctures, train/bus delays, bad navigation (have been known to get lost once or twice!) & my own tiredness.
    I do have a mobile telephone though, so will always keep in touch if I face any unexpected delays.

    I do smoke, when & where I am able, but am quite happy in a non smoking household.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback