Jakob

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Looking for full-time travelers to share a part of the journey with.

    My next destination:

    Colombia - from Feb 2022 until Nov 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi, I am Jakob and I am passionate about exploring new perspectives on the world and learn from the people around me what they think is important. Thank you Workaway for making it so easy to do that! Currently I am at an incredibly beautiful permaculture/camp site project close to Barichara, Colombia, digging trenches, building a vermicomposting system, now transitioning into a ginormous project of building an Ecoversity with the awesome community here.

    I've been full-time traveling for the past three and a half years and probably will continue for still a few more to come. I like reading, I like meditating, I like taking walks, I like hikes that are more endurance races than anything else, I like talking with people, I like coding, I like digging trenches with mattocks, I like exploring the possibility of founding autonomous, interconnected intentional communities to emancipate ourselves from the incentive structures that drive us to destroy the world we live in and a lot more.

    I am passionate about learning, be it languages, sports or intellectual topics like artificial intelligence, psychology and complexity science. I try to give my best every day to become better at serving the nurturing forces in this existence. I'm very easy to excite for all sorts of different topics, so I would love to hear what you are passionate about!

    I'm part of a think tank called Equilibrium that focuses around a sense-making project trying to develop better models to understand the world and our information landscape. I especially like thinking about how to design evolutive systems that help our societies build incentive structures around continuous adaptation instead of locking itself in inaction. If you know Daniel Schmachtenberger, Metamodernism or Game B, hello my friend. If not, hello my friend. I believe that in order to be able to work meaningfully on such a project, I have to understand different people's perspectives on life and what they value and therefore am incredibly grateful to partake in this awesome platform that enables me to do just that: work on incredible projects and meet incredible people. I am planning on doing this for still quite a few years and am looking for kindred spirits to share longer parts of the journey with. So if you want to go on adventures together, contact me!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Books
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    During my past workaways I have helped out in a hostel, cut down bamboo, cooked in a restaurant, worked at a language cafe, worked on a permaculture project, picked coffee, taught English, built a dry stone wall and dug on-contour swales for rain water harvesting.
    I have built rocket stoves, extracted clay from the earth and plastered houses with cob, did all the work necessary to sustain a semi-autonomous community in the forest and much more.
    I do not have that much work experience in the "real world" (which I am starting to see as something of a blessing), except for working as a software developer during high school.
    I do any sports I can, so I am a pretty fit guy and happy to get dirty and use my hands. I have found my love for manual labor and if there is some chopping or shoveling to do, count me in!
    I feel comfortable with technology and setting up websites or things like that.
    I am a responsible and punctual person and enjoy organizing things.
    I have three younger siblings, so I am no stranger with kids and know what it means to live in a bigger family.
    My most important skill, however, is that I would consider myself a very quick learner, so even if I have never done something before, if there is somebody to teach me, I usually can do it independently quite quickly and help out.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    Let us create a world we are excited to live in :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do prefer to eat as vegan as possible, but if necessary I am not a very picky eater.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback