Imogen

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2018 - 31/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    592

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi people,

    I am living in Bristol at the moment, last year I completed a course in permaculture and practical sustainability (called Shift Bristol, if you want to look it up). I have learnt absolutely loads in this time, and visited some truly inspiring projects around the UK. I was introduced to many useful things such as permaculture design principles, organic horticulture, 12-volt electrics, building a roundhouse using natural materials, some principles of sustainable forestry (though not a lot of practice), and perhaps most importantly how to work within a diverse group of people.

    I'm really keen to get out on the land and get some more practical experience, and to put some of my knowledge into practice. I'm especially interested in developing the natural building and carpentry skills that I learned while building the roundhouse. I'd also love to help out with forestry work, and any kind of outdoor work really.

    I've done a bit of WWOOFing in the past. The highlight was a permaculture smallholding in Spain, which was a few years ago now but I still feel the benefits of what I learned there and the inspiration it gave me. (I can get a reference from Helen, my host there, if you want one seeing as I haven't yet got any reviews on my workaday profile).

    I'm very receptive and eager to learn from others while offering my own opinion and experience to a problem. I enjoy being sociable, though am able to entertain myself too. I love going for walks, climbing trees, cooking (and eating!), nonsense and most things given the right amount of enthusiasm. I really thrive off being around proactive people so I'm really excited to get out and meet all you lot doing these cool things :)

    UPDATE

    I am now at university in Bristol doing an environmental science degree. I have decided to go to Canada for the entire summer (the idea came to me in the middle of the night and now I have my heart set on it!) I have wanted to commit a decent chunk of time to volunteering on some of the amazing projects on this site, but somehow something always seems to get in the way (generally work or other fun commitments!) Anyway now I am so ready to head out into some beautiful nature and work hard and just live in a much more natural way.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Basic carpentry/building, cob building, gardening, some permaculture design experience, cooking, living a bit rough, and lots of stamina, energy, and readiness to be taught what I don't yet know how to do.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    UK

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more