• United States
  • Login to see last activity

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    My next destination:

    United States
    View all
  • Description

    Teddy Roosevelt coined my life motto when he said, "Far and away the best prize that life has to offer is the chance to work hard at work worth doing."


    I'm a mature, single woman with heaps and heaps of farming, building, equipment, animal, gardening and manual labor experience. I come from a depression-era family and was raised with a very solid work ethic. I'm definitely not afraid to get dirty. I like seeing jobs get done and am not a clock watcher. :)

    I've hosted lots of travelers in my homes, so I know what makes a good guest (and how to be one :). I see Workaway and HelpX and Wwoofing as a cultural and community exchange benefiting both parties, and I like volunteering with hosts who feel similarly.

    Skills/experience include:
    basic carpentry (trim, fences, chicken coops, etc.)
    drywall (gyprock) & painting
    rock & mortar
    industrial construction
    earthbag construction
    operating landscaping equipment
    forklift operation
    bobcat operation
    milking (sheep)
    docking (lambs)
    butchering (chickens, cattle)
    persuasive writing
    being nice :)

    A HelpX host where the work is primarily cleaning wouldn't be a good fit for me. My passion is projects; I love seeing results.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

  • More details about your skills

    Ooops - listed above.

    Jobs I've done at various exchange locations around the globe are:

    1. Re-finishing a sail boat, gardening, wood chopping.
    2. Gardening, pony haircut, community work day, babysitting.
    3. Fence building, cafe construction.
    4. Winter wood chopping, feeding goats, weed whacking (strimmer/whippersnip).
    5. ditch digging, tussock planting, weeding, build greenhouse, chicken/cattle management.
    6. collect manure, feed lamb orphans, planting, braid willows, pruning, weeding, fertilizing, docking lambs.
    7. rappelling to remove invasive species, community working bee, trail building, step building.
    8. milking sheep, making cheese, harvesting capers, butchering chickens, feeding animals, mucking stalls.
    9. thinning kiwis, gardening, making super-fertilizer.
    10. weed whacking (strimming), refinish chairs & tables, gardening, watering, build & cover no-dig garden beds.
    11. post hole digging, building berry stabilizing and rain-proofing structures, weeding.
    12. papaya planting, painting, school presentations, repairs, kitchen maintenance, gardening, writing project
    13. wood stacking, computer work, harvesting, roof maintenance, trellis building, rendering
    14. hedge trimming, pruning, harvesting, gardening, canning, butter-making, composting, processing carob, fennel, & quince, whippersnipping, mowing, landscaping, wood shredding, honey harvesting, planting, sanding & painting, gutter maintenance, cheese-making, plaster and render repair
    15. field planting, drain installations, assist stonemason, organize workshop and storage area, tank repair, babysitting
    16. netting fruit trees and vines, elderly care, tree trimming & bush pruning, weed whacking
    17. manual ditch revival, stair building, move tractorloads of materials, build garden fence
    18. earthbag construction (shoveling, mixing, measuring, barbed-wire taming, generator & pump monitoring)

    I guess I also have an extensive work history, which includes:

    rafting guide
    coal mine equipment operator
    ranch hand
    marketing & develoment
    office manager
    retail/service industry
    interpreter (spanish)
    electrical assistant

  • Age


  • What else ...

    I like you already! :)

    Also - I didn't know I wouldn't be able to caption photos. They're all from various, fun work-exchanges!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements