Hanna

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2021 - 07/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Hanna. I'm 21, and study art history and anthropology at UC Berkeley. I'm grateful to be able to take some time off of college in 2021, having found myself incompatible with the encompassing orientation towards zoom and the computer.

    I feel motivated by the love of people in my life with whom I've built sustained and deeply nourishing relationships, valuing expectations of accountability. Throughout my college years I've lived in a vegetarian co-op, a community of nearly 60 people (pre-COVID). I've grown to relate to the community less in pursuit of individualist needs/ideas, with more recognition of myself as one cell in a greater organism, understanding that the health of the individual relies on a healthy collective. I deeply value community, and have considered at length what it means and takes to be a part of a community as a responsible, accountable, and giving member.

    I receive much gratification from academic work, beholding and creating art, and playing music. I'm also passionate about backpacking, and I often feel the most in touch with myself and with the present moment when I'm alone for days in nature.

    I keep a mediation practice and try to sit twice daily, and would be happy to share my practice with others.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Hiking
    Drawing & painting
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    I am knowledgable with vegetarian cooking; I've been cooking plant-based food since I was in middle school. I now direct cook-shifts for my co-op, and am thus responsible for feeding 60 people and guiding my peers to do so alongside me. I've been cooking bi-weekly for my co-op for a year and a half. In that time I've learned how to cook large quantities with efficiency of time, ingredients, and cleanliness.

    I forage for edible wild plants in the Bay Area, and make meals out of them.

    For three months I received training around working with and caring for children ages 8-13, in the context of a summer camp. During that time I was actively working with children, while being closely evaluated and given feedback. I attended numerous workshops and discussions in which I learned how to discern a child's individual needs, and how to appropriately address them in a manner healthy to the group as well as the child, how/when to appropriately intervene with negative group dynamics, how to find balance in providing support for a child and encouraging their self-sufficiency and problem solving. I also learned the tenets of nonviolent communication and practiced implementing them while working with children, and strive to communicate through the NVC framework in my life. After this training, I spent two further summers working and living with children at the summer camp.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Chinese (Others): Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I would be so happy to speak Mandarin or Spanish with someone, to the extent I'm able.

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback