ALICIA

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, France, Italy, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/06/2019 - 07/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello!

    My name is Alicia and I am nature-loving, outdoorsy, keen traveller with a real interest in learning, growing (both myself and vegetables!) and meeting people and sharing stories around a fire :)

    My ambition is to live by the rhythms of nature as much as I can; to be sustainable, using the ethics and principles of permaculture; and be part of a community (intentional or otherwise) which truly values love and compassion for all things, and works together as part of a larger shared vision or cause. Sounds pretty utopian, I know, but I do believe that there are people out there already living this dream, and so I am in the process of trying to make it come true myself! Thus, Workaway placements are a really wonderful way for me to learn new skills that I can implement in the future, share a few of my own, and above all, meet lovely people!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I undertook a Permaculture Design Course last year and became certified in Permaculture Design, taught by Kyle Smith and Lola Byron in Alantejo, Portugal. I also learnt how to build a habitable cob house and a mud hut using only my hands and feet (for squishing the mud)!
    I love to cook vegan/veggie food, and have volunteered in this capacity for meditation and yoga retreats. I also taught English at a girls orphanage in Sri Lanka, so I can potentially tutor/do an exchange if someone would like.. It was at the orphanage that I organised the painting of a large mural in their main hall - I enjoy getting the paint out either for creative or D.I.Y purposes :)
    I have degree in media and communications from Goldsmtihs, University of London, and worked for a long time in London's communications industry so can happily assist with anything writing; marketing; blog/web design and social media related.
    I enjoy singing, and practicing yoga and meditation, so I could happily start a musical jam with other musicians or lead a yoga/meditation class. I also love Ecstatic dance, Five Rhythms, and any form of movement and body work - whatever connects me to Source :)

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    34

  • What else ...

    I speak English, and I am trying to keep up with my French :-)

    I've traveled around a lot (with still so many places to explore), including India, Sri Lanka, South East Asia, China, Japan, Hong Kong, Macau, Malawi, South Africa, a lot of Europe, and some of the States. Really keen to get to know my home turf of the UK a little more!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Almost vegan

Feedback