Ivan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/09/2017 - 30/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I was born in Southern Italy near the sea, in Salento more precisely, in September heat 1987.

    Moved at age 3 with my parents in Geneva, Switzerland. Huge contrast and choc for the little boy. Body didn't like it. Though we get used to everything apparently.

    Had a nice time living there, though somehow I never felt deeply connected to the place, so after 10 years of thinking and trying a move abroad (London in 2010, Lisbon in 2016), I finally took the leap and made it for good in Bristol (January 2020).

    Now it's the longest time (almost 3 months) that I am away from my "comfort zone" and I kinda feel like home, but that's due to my inner life balance and solid daily habits.

    I spent my first month in Bristol at a friend's place, then was invited for the second month in Northern Yorkshire and I'm back in Bristol since mid-March. My friend is moving flat in the coming weeks, and I must move away too.

    I was supposed to get a day job to cover the cost of living and then a room for myself, while I'm developing my music career and other creative talents to someday support myself independently. I'm starting to make little money with my music online and I'm looking for freelance jobs in audio production and edition.

    With the current lockdown situation I can't find a normal job for now, so I thought I'd do some WorkAway for a while, until I can get back to the city, also to connect with people here especially in the music scene and host some events.

    My plan is to stay around Bristol for at least six months. Then I'd like to live for a year near my hometown in Italy.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I'm hyper-creative and have ever-flowing ideas, which can be distracting at times and get me sidetracked, though I get better at just focusing on less things.

    I can help building new good habits, after I have myself installed three morning habits (walk, Qi Qong, splurge a new music idea) and two before bed (plan next day, journal).

    I can teach you my music making methodology, which allows me to unleash my creative self fully. I make music using Ableton Live on my laptop, with some real instruments, my voice, field recordings, surrounding objects, samples and virtual instruments that I play with a little midi keyboard.

    I have a wide music knowledge and eclectic library so I can create many different atmospheres with specific playlists or mixtapes by mood/theme/energy.

    I also got some skills with graphic design (photoshop) and video editing.

    I just launched a talk podcast, so I'm getting even better at audio editing for this specific format.

    I'm passionate about the body/mind link and movements. I can share the exercices I do to keep my body in good shape, strengthen it and make it more flexible. It's based on natural movements and playing. We can get creative and invent new games/movements as well to develop our awareness and body/mind capabilities.

    I can help you resolve issues and make the most of new technology, computers, Internet. Can bring ideas for digital marketing as well, and marketing in general maybe.

    I'm fluent in French and Italian.

    I got great writing skills, I type very fast (many people are impressed by what is second nature to me now) and I love to tell stories (my own adventures).

    I'm a great listener and I love to organise things, to optimise systems and create processes to make everyday life smoother. I love to tidy and organise spaces.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    Italy

  • What else ...

    I enjoy cleaning, tidying and washing dishes. One of the best opportunity to practice mindfulness.

    I'd like to find a peaceful opportunity with creative and musical people ideally, with things to do with my hands – possibly permaculture, building things, ideally little to no screen time involved as I already spend much hours in front of a screen for my own things

    I would absolutely love to spend some hours gardening, building things and just make use of my creativity and hands in new ways.

    My website : https://costals.net

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      dairy

    • Special dietary requirements
      no dairy, no meat (wild fish is usually appreciated)

Photos

Feedback