Frauke

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/04/2020 - 31/07/2021

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Frauke, from Germany, and I love being around people, animals and nature. I enjoy reading and writing stories, have played various instruments and tried various sports - the most fun so far I had with Martial Arts, especially HEMA (Historical European Martial Arts) and I'm very passionate about it.

    I want to go to Canada, because I fell in love with the American nature when I was on holiday in the US in 2017 and the weeks I spent there weren't nearly enough to satisfy me.
    I love nature and animals, both wild ones and domesticated ones, and I want to learn, see and experience more of them in a surrounding where they can still be free and themselves. I want to live closer to nature and get away from the stress of my more industrial environment in Germany and maybe even find a new home somewhere unexpected and beautiful.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
  • What skills do you have?

    I have finished vocational training as a Software Developer in Germany, where I mostly worked in web development and with design software like Photoshop (Level 4 of the European Qualifications Framework). It's been a year since me working in IT, so I'm not as confident about my programming skills anymore, but I'm still very resourceful and confident about my general computer skills.

    From July 2018 to July 2019 I stayed in an Erasmus+/European Solidarity Corps volunteering project in Hungary, close to Lake Velence, and worked there with horses (helping to break in untrained horses) and as maintenance team around a nomad campsite - fixing fences, building a house, taking care of the campsite. I wrote a blog about the whole experience, which you can find at https://chasing-the-rainbow.hurin.ch/
    I definitely want to learn more about training (and riding) horses, but I still think I need a bit of supervision when working with horses. (I have learned riding in Germany for two years, but I was a lot younger back then.)
    I am very good with animals, and usually treat them more like people than "just" animals, so I'm also very confident I can help with animals in general.
    At some point in my life I want to have dogs, so if I get a chance at living with dogs and taking care of them, that would be fabulous! I already spend my time in Hungary working with two Pulis.

    Currently I am working as a cashier in a grocery store, so I'm in contact with custormers full-time, and I enjoy that a lot, too, so doing odd works, working with people, things like that is no problem for me either.
    I'm fluent in German and English, but I don't think I'm a good teacher for languages - but if someone needs a practice partner for either language, I'm very good at deciphering broken sentences and I can adapt my language level to my partner. I already was a language training partner for a few people in Hungary and even had a small English speaking club as a side project for myself.
    Still, being fluent in these two languages and being good at working with people is the reason why I also would like helping with charity work, language practice and helping with tourists.

    My driving licences are B and A2 (I hope to make that a normal A before I go abroad), I'm riding an oldtimer BMW together with my father (R65) and I don't mind driving people around in a car, so if a designated driver is needed, you can count on me.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Hungarian: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I like the card game "Munchkin" and Pen & Paper roleplay games (especially The Dark Eye (Das Schwarze Auge), and old German P&P).
    I'm into tabletop games in general and can teach one or two easy ones, too.

    I can play the accordion and tin whistle, a bit of guitar and harmonica and I really love singing, too.
    In my free time, I also write stories, for myself and a handful of friends.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback