Erica

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/06/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! I am a young Canadian who has recently finished a bachelor's degree in computer engineering. I joined Workaway because I felt like it was a good time to explore the world a little :)

    I love nature, being outside, and the way it smells right after rain. I'm a generally curious person and I like to learn about different tasks and about topics that interest the people I meet. I would also consider myself to be motivated, respectful and a quick learner.

    I am particularly interested in travelling to Germany because I have enjoyed past experiences in Germany, because I am currently learning German, and because I would like to learn more about my German heritage. I did an internship in Germany last summer and by the end of it I had learned some German (aber nur ein bisschen) and decided that I wanted to continue to learn. However, I have never taken any formal lessons so my German knowledge is still very beginner. Also, my mother's parents were ethnically German and so one of my Familiennamen is Friesen. My German colleagues joked that that version of my name (Erica Friesen) made me sound like eine deutsche Großmutter! A lot of my family in the west of Canada can speak German and it would be fun to be able speak with them.

    I'm excited to learn and to meet new people! (and to eat Brötchen again :D )

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Cooking
    - Cleaning
    - Home organization
    - Visual design
    - Programming
    - Basic gardening skills

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, (German)

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    Some other interests of mine are:
    - Music (I listen to an enjoy many kinds of music)
    - Art & design (I like taking the time to make things beautiful and practical)
    - Cycling
    - Salsa dancing

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback