Dmitry

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Latvia, Lithuania

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/12/2019 - 31/07/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi all! I am working and living in London, together with my wife and two small daughters.
    After volunteering couple of times on this and WWOOF sites elsewhere, I have decided to start focusing on the place(s) where I actually would like to move and settle, which are for me Baltic states, Latvia and potentially Lithuania.
    I would like to spend about a week or two in some homestead in one of the countries above. The goal being to get to know environment even better (although I've been in Latvia few times before and absolutely love that country), get first hand stories and experience from smallholders and people there, hopefully make some friends and also look for properties around in my free time.
    P.S. Me and my wife also have a couples account here (dmitry778), but I will be going by myself as this is very much an adventure. The family will move I guess only when I will buy and establish the place myself.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    basic horse riding and horse care
    basic DIY
    basic bee handling
    willing to work hard and learn new skills

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    45

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Ideally - smallholding of people who have started few years ago from scratch, moving from the city. Very interested to hear and learn from their experiences.

    If you are looking for a partners or like-minded people moving nearby - it will be great, as I think it may be easier to start together

    My "plan" is to find some picturesque but not pricey place, build or renovate house there, a put few holiday cabins on the property, few chickens, goats for self-use and kind of 'soft play' for kids + some bees to produce honey for sale.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      none

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Photos

Feedback