Cormac

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/07/2021 - 03/09/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a 21 year old student from Ireland. I study mathematics in University College Dublin.

    I love adventure. I want to get out and experience the world, to see new places and learn new skills. I see workaways as the perfect way to do this. As a student,they give me the unique opportunity to travel without needing much money, while facilitating meeting lots of different people. I am excited to learn new languages, ways of life and pick up skills along the way.

    I joined the mountaineering club in my first year in college. Through the club I have met so many wonderful, interesting people from all over the world. I got into rock climbing and hiking and I have found my love for the outdoors has grown and grown. An ideal workaway for me would involve lots of time outside while allowing me to enjoy climbing and hiking in the area.

    Having lived in a residential area my whole life, and in the city for the past three years, I am desperate to get away from the 'concrete jungle' and to live in an environment which is more inclusive of nature, and free (as much as possible) from the pulls and stresses of modern society. I have seen my ideas and values grow and develop in the past couple of years and I am excited to see where they go next. I am especially curious to see how much I can (or want to) pursue a low waste/impact lifestyle.

    I have heard amazing stories of experiences of my friends with Workaway, and it is something I have wanted to do for a while. I am looking forward to creating my own stories.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I study mathematics in University College Dublin (UCD), and have developed strong numerical and problem solving skills. I love learning new skills.

    I have experience volunteering on the committee for the UCD mountaineering club, both as treasurer and now, captain. I kept the accounts in order, organised events and helped to involve new members in activities. I developed strong communication and organisational skills. I enjoyed working as part of a team and contributing to a great club.

    I am good at adapting to new challenges and I am always looking to push myself.

    I love cooking, generally I prepare vegetarian meals for myself and friends.

    I play piano and guitar. I have some experience with computer programming mostly as part of my degree in the python language. I am an experienced rock climber and hiker.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Irish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I would like to become fluent in French and Spanish. I love both of these languages and have been learning them on and off for several years.

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback