Klára

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Czech Republic, Ireland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a secondary school student with a clear vision of how I want to spend this Summer, be it in my home country or abroad. I wish to abandon the comfort of home, gain experience elsewhere and, ideally, be of help to others! Some of my greatest passions are reading (in case you were interested in my literary taste, do not hesitate to scroll through my Goodreads account), writing (I keep a blog, check it out if you want to get to know me less conventionally: https://clarech712.wixsite.com/016207), listening to podcasts and going on long rambles in the forest. Somewhat recently, through my experience as a volunteer at a primary school, I have also developed a particular liking for work with children. I find nothing as rewarding as an afternoon spent in the company of youngsters of various personalities and interests! (In fact, were I to fail on my path towards a career in Mathematics or Computer Science, which two subjects I am most enthusiastic about in the academic sense, I would likely follow the family tradition, and contentedly settle as a teacher.)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    There is no point in pretending that I am a renaissance person, for, at my age and in this age, such a thing is hardly possible. However, life will leave all of us with at least some skills; even I have a few to pride myself on!

    So far, I have been getting as all-round an education as possible. I spent six years at a state grammar school in my home town, and, this year, I have begun the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme at the Open Gate Grammar School near Prague. However, despite my lack of any extensive expertise, I benefit from being immersed in the secondary education system. I believe that I should be able to impart any of the knowledge I have gained so far on somebody younger than me.

    What most likely sets me apart from my peers is the fact that I spent my formative years in an English-speaking environment. When I was three years old, my family and I moved to Dublin, Ireland, and returned to the Czech Republic when I was going on eight. Although my English went rusty in the following years, in my third year at grammar school, I decided to improve it. Thanks to my enthusiasm, I was able to gradually work my way towards gaining the C1 Advanced certificate from Cambridge English last year. (This then played a role in my transition to the Open Gate Grammar School, where lessons are conducted in English.) Therefore, apart from being willing to teach anybody my beloved mother tongue, I would stand a fair chance of helping another person on their way towards fluency in English!

    Now to the less academic and arguably more practical aspects of my position as a functioning human being. I have been a strict vegetarian for three years, and since I am the only member of the family to be following this lifestyle, I have been preparing most of my meals ever since I gave up meat. I adhere to no specific cuisine, but, on the other hand, am able to rustle up a meal out of almost anything I happen to find in the pantry! (Admittedly, sometimes the aid of the Internet is necessary. Also, I have not quite mastered baking yet, but would love to get there someday.)

    In addition to being able to cook, I am also reasonably good at tidying. (That is because at home, usually nobody else than me is willing to do anything about the dust accumulating on surfaces and the toothpaste stubbornly reappearing on the mirror in the bathroom.) So long as it is an option to have earbuds in my ears while tidying, I do not consider the activity as such a nuisance as others would!

    There still remain to be many more things that I cannot do than those that I master. You might see this as a disadvantage, and that I would completely understand. At the same time, however, I could offer a different point of view on the matter: I love to learn. Teach me, and the chances are it will pay!

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    18

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Feedback