Ciara

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/07/2018 - 01/01/2030

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I am Ciara. I can't wait to meet you. Let me tell you about myself. I am the eldest of 6 children from rural Ireland. I studied Sociology at university in England, I've au paired and worked as a nanny for 4 years in France and I've taught English in summer camps and a school in Italy. I love Italy in particular Sicily and I want to continue my exploration of the island.

    I spent a year on the road living in a camper van that me and my ex partner totally refurbished from top to bottom. We stayed close to rivers and lakes as we had an inflatable kayak that we used as much as possible. I learned a lot about how to recognise edible and medicinal plants, with the help of many reliable sources of course. We went hiking a lot because I just love to be out in nature. We also tried our hand at yoga and meditation.

    I’m quite good at art but would love some guidance to help me develop my skills and I love to make things. I would also love to learn how to make make my own clothes. I hate clothes shopping and I think it would be so much easier if I could create exactly what it is that I have in my head than having to go out and look for an ugly substitute! I can knit squares of fabric and I've basic sewing skills as I always try to repair my clothes before throwing them away.

    I love children and I have a lot of experience looking after them as well as experience teaching English. I love everything to do with food. Growing it, cooking it, and eating it! I'm a very friendly person and can get along with anyone. I'm friendly, funny, helpful, creative and infinitely curious. I love deep interesting conversations that span the breadth of human knowledge. But I'm also good at small chit chat haha! Its not all talk of the cosmos with me. I've a strong desire to learn. I'm teaching myself guitar and I love having this new skill. Its become my favourite method of procrastination haha!! I think my curious nature influences my desire to travel. Exploring new cultures, learning new languages, meeting new people and of course making new friends are all driving forces behind my wanderlust. Ideally I'd love to settle in Sicily for awhile. I'd like to find a job there but if that doesn't happen I'm happy to stay there as a workawayer hopefully with a host that doesn't mind me staying long term or jumping from place to place staying with many hosts! As you can probably tell I'm very easy going haha!

    I'm incredibly open minded and the polar opposite of a judgmental person. I'm not a materialistic person and would say i'm minimalist but I can't be minimalist books! I'm not the best with technology (I tend to get frustrated by it a little too easily haha) but I know my way around windows and I know how to use a VPN. That's the extent of my knowledge.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I was a live in au pair for a year and a half and then I worked as a full time nanny in Paris. So child minding skills.
    I have a degree in Sociology and CELTA certificate which qualifies me to teach English as a second language. I tutored kids from the village I au paired in for extra money, I have worked in summer camps as a English teaching and I taught for some months in a school in Sicily. Because I grew up on the farm I have lots experience feeding and caring for animals and some experience using machinery. I can drive a tractor for instance! I have also a lot of experience as a waitress. My first job was in small guesthouse so I have experience cleaning and preparing bedrooms and bathrooms for guests. I also worked in the kitchen there doing food prep and dish washing but I also set and waited tables there too. At my current job my boss has deemed me capable enough to leave me on my own, responsible for the dining room and bar.

    I really enjoy cooking and I have some experience cooking for large numbers of people after volunteering at small local festivals and some not so small, for example the Django Reinhardt Jazz festival in France.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I love cooking and I'm a pretty good at it, if I do say so myself! I like dogs but LOVE cats. I'm into yoga and all sorts of music. My liked songs playlist on spotify is very random.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegan, but not a judgmental one haha!

Photos

Feedback