Bernardo & Bride

From: Argentina & New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/06/2019 - 01/02/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Kia ora! We are Bride and Berna, a kiwi-argentino couple about to embark northwards after living in Dunedin for 2 years. We set out from Dunedin with the intention to move closer towards a life that makes more sense to us.. a life with a stronger and more meaningful connection to Papatuanuku, a life with a slower pace, and a life where our practical skills and knowledge can expand in order to rely less on capitalism and ground more into community.

    Through workaway, we are really keen to learn more about eco building, permaculture, and beekeeping. Of course, these kinds of exchanges are most importantly about the people. (He aha te mea nui o te ao? He tangata, he tangata, he tangata).

    We met through couchsurfing and we really love the concept of couchsurfing and work exchanges. It's so valuable to be able to exchange meals, laughs, stories, drinks, gratitude, and time, for the same in return, with no currency involved. For us, it makes those experiences more valuable and authentic. We volunteered through Workaway several times on a trip in South America, and they were all great experiences. To experience a different families/ communities way living is something very special and from those experiences grows ideas of our own future together.

    (Bride)
    I want to learn about alternative and sustainable ways of living, meet inspiring and knowledgeable people. With every new person who ignites something in me, my core values expand, surrounding ideas like compassion, sharing, consciousness, and sustainable living. I love music, being close to nature, gardening, making things, working with children, sharing mindful energy, and conversations with good people.

    (Berna)
    More than five years ago, I decided to leave my office job and life in Buenos Aires, to pursue what fills my life with more meaning. I seek to know places through people and experiences. This is how I met Bride, during my trip to New Zealand. We have similar views about the importance of learning and sharing knowledge about how to live in a conscious way according to our feelings and ideas, as well as some shared interests such as our love of music.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Keenness to learn, not afraid of getting dirty, hands on.

    We are both creative and artistic and musical.

    Berna has landscaping, welding, and building experience.

    Bride loves all things crafty and has lots of experience working with children, and has completed a Certificate in Permaculture Design.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    34 & 26

  • Nationality

    Argentina, New Zealand

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No. At home we try to be conscious of where our food has come from, but while we are guests, we eat what we are given.

Photos

Feedback