Benjie

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    My name is Benjie. I am from Oregon originally, where I grew up, but for the past fours years I have been living in Montréal. I graduated from university in May with a degree in cinema and anthropology. Since this summer I've been working as a bartender here in Montréal. I am adaptable and sensitive to the culture and environment I find myself in. I would characterize myself as somebody empathetic, calm, always hungry for connection and engagement.

    In terms of my passions, I am a writer, filmmaker, and guitarist. These are my sunshine in life. I would love to bring my guitar and camera along and hopefully collaborate within the local creative community there.

    The biggest motivation for my upcoming voyage is to immerse myself in the Spanish language and Latin American culture generally–the food, the way of living the day, the dance, the crafts, everything. I have studied Spanish on and off most of my life, but I have not yet had a really immersive experience as an adult so this will be an absolute pleasure and adventure.

    I grew up in the mountains so I have always felt a great calm and comfort in the nature. I love hiking and camping. I am very much attracted to being off-the-grid and immersed in the natural environment, as well as being a steward to the land.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    DIY and building projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Since the age of 15, the majority of my jobs have been in restaurants. I began washing dishes, then moved up to prep, eventually cooking on the line, and presently I work as a bartender. Due to these experiences, I can offer a genuine love of cooking and serving those around me. I see food as a love language of sorts. I am very interested in helping cook as well as learning new recipes.

    I am a generally creative person. I love drawing, painting, clothes, sewing, as well as finding creative solutions to maintain a property, garden, etcetera. I can offer this spirit in projects around the property, as well as community-oriented activities.

    I worked for 2 years at a garden center and plant nursery in my hometown. There, I was responsible for watering the plants everyday, planting, transplanting, and doing general landscaping and maintenance around the property. I love having my hands in the dirt, sweating, doing projects, all that. Also, I have some general knowledge of plant species, plant care, and gardening which could be of great use to you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I am mainly motivated by the desire to improve my Spanish. My mother tongue is English, and I am fluent in French. I would be happy to teach English (and French even), and I have much to offer as this was my focus of study.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback