Alberto

From: Spain

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/02/2020 - 04/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Alberto! I grew up in Maracaibo, Venezuela where I lived until a year after getting my degree in architecture, saved some money and decided to travel the world.

    In the last years, I have solo traveled to many cities, lived a season in Florida, New York, and Madrid while doing different tasks throughout my journey that have involved design work along with a wide range of jobs like dressing up like Mickey Mouse, doing city walk tours, making Belgian waffles, bartending, etc.

    Although most of that I did it trough regular means, I also interacted through Couchsurfing as a way to contact other travelers and meet people along the way, some of them told me about the Workaway and seeing the opportunities of all the authentic experiences at hand really made me want to try it out!

    Being an experienced member of that other community I could see how not having many references here could be an issue so if you would like to know more details or what people thought of me here are some other profiles from me...

    Couchsurfing profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/alberto-aguirre

    Instagram: @a4shots

    Some hobbies that I have:
    -Drawing ideas
    -Language exchanges
    -Reading books and graphic novels
    -Writing poetry
    -Exercise with calisthenics
    -Dancing
    -Going to concerts and festivals

    Other hobbies that I used to do a lot some years ago and now do less frequently:
    -Playing guitar
    -TV shows
    -Movies
    -Videogames

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about: 

    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I finished my studies in architecture school (5 years) so anything construction or design related really sparks my interest. My main strengths are concept design and interior decor ideas. If you would like any recommendations, guides or even labor work in the field, I'd be more than glad to cooperate in the project.

    I've got some hand in hand experience in some projects done in my houses while I lived in Venezuela and Spain, most of them were woodworking, assembling or painting related.

    Experience in more graphical design jobs as drafts, tattoos designs, and photography shoots/editions.

    Being a regular host in Madrid for travelers taught me ways to interact with people from any culture, different recipes and on the other side of the coin, backpacking 8 months non stop taught me how to be frugal, flexible and grateful in any circumstance.

    I'm a strong believer in the idea that anybody has something to teach and something to learn, some topics I have experience teaching and would be more than glad to give insight are:
    -History and culture from Venezuela, Latin America and any other place I have lived in.
    -Spanish (especially the weird slang words that change from one country to the other haha)
    -English
    -Design (Architecture basics, graphical insights, and conceptual ideas)
    -Drawing (Sketching, technical and painting)
    -Calisthenics (Bodyweight exercise, 6 years of experience)
    -Dance (Salsa, Merengue, Bachata, Vallenato, etc)

    Other skills that some co-workers have told me I've in jobs like an entertainer, cashier, bartender, etc. Are:
    -Diplomacy: I intuitively interact with people caring for verbal, non-verbal and visual aspects.
    -Sales: Use of wit to persuade customers to get something extra.
    -Tolerance: It is difficult to upset me on top of easiness to be able to work extra hours if there are emergencies.
    -Creativity: Ease to come up with fresh ideas.
    -Adaptability: Adjustable to new situations.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Venezuelan, Spanish.

  • What else ...

    Spanish - Native (C2)
    English - Fluent (C2)
    Portuguese - Beginner (A2)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I did an allergies test some years ago and only dust gave positive. After some years traveling, that hasn't been an issue at all.

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback