Andreas

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Denmark, Italy, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello out there,

    I grew up on a small farm in a very small and remote town in central Germany, up to an age of 12.
    When starting university I moved to a small city in the Thuringian forest (also central Germany). Or, more precise, to a small town next to that city. The landscape there is similarly lovely with big forests and hills. The university is very well known for its engineering and computer science graduates.

    There I made my Master's degree in Computer Science and worked for 4 years as a professional full-stack software developer in a research project of a private company. The working conditions were nice, I was basically my own boss, concept, design and implementation were all in my hands with two students supporting me. I also started to make roadtrips across Europe and to dance a lot (couple dance as lead and follow).

    All that time, now nearly 10 years, I lived in a students dorm. This is not only a very cheap and easy way of living fitting my minimalist's needs. It also provides a high fluctuation in its residents, so I met a lot of different people from all over the world. And while I am usually not too much into their culture I am very tolerant to different views, values and traditions.

    After all that time I noticed that 24/7 staring at the computer screen is no more what I am striving for. That's why I decided to travel the world and acquire some skills I may need when finally I will settle down. I am not a materialistic kind of person at all, I do not linger for career, status and money, but for harmony, love and nature.

    During my Workaway experiences since April 2019 I learned I want to work parttime in IT to fund my projects, live in a nice community and do gardening, juice making and work profrssionally with dogs (e.g. Animal Assisted Therapy).
    For this I want to learn how to take care of animals, especially dogs (my family is more into cats). I want to learn about farming and gardening, too, about preserving fruits and baking. I want to learn about practical work like building, DIY and renovating, about art projects, child care and cooking.

    Usually I am a fast learner, and once I know what to do I do my job in a self-reliant and structured way. I am quite empathic when it comes to animals. Furthermore I am quite patient and do not get stressed out easily. However, I need some quiet and cosy place for my own to process my thoughts and get new energy. This can also be a place in nature. That and some food will keep me happy, I do not need a big room nor fancy stuff.
    I get along with everyone quite well. It's really difficult to get into a fight with me.

    My tour:
    April 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/567433232128-en.html
    May 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/424371836492-en.html
    June/July 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/863565616298-en.html
    July/August 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/243766813511-en.html
    August/September 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/378797586625-en.html
    September/October 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/789496391666-en.html
    October/November 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/en/host/667582539957
    November 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/en/host/437378569641
    December 2019 - https://www.workaway.info/en/host/363826771665
    January 2020 - https://www.workaway.info/en/host/389584374255

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - self-reliant, empathic, open-minded and somewhat introvert metalhead
    - fast learner, very organized worker and nuts about animals
    - professional Programmer (Java, Search Engine Technology)
    - experienced Driver (car, ~35.000km/year)
    - experienced Dancer (Brazilian Zouk)
    - experienced in Animal Care (Dogs, Cats, Goats, Sheep, Chicken, Ducks, Geese, Ponys, Llamas) and Dog Training
    - some experience in Photography, Charting, Flyer and Magazine Layout and Print
    - some experience in Web Design and Search Engine Optimization
    - some experience in Gardening, Firewood, Fencing and the Vineyard
    - some experience in Painting, Flooring, Tiling, Carpentry and Roofing
    - basic experience in Cooking and Preserving Fruits
    - basic experience in Video Production
    - basic experience in Selling at the market
    - basic experience in playing the Baritone Ukulele

  • Languages spoken

    German (native), English

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    I will bring my own car as long as I am travelling Europe!
    I will bring my Baritone Ukulele and camping equipment (including a tent) as backup accomodation.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      no alcohol

Photos

Norway Roadtrip
Workaway Host 1: Moschellandsburg with Nele
Workaway Host 1: Cuddling with Waldi
Workaway Host 2: Roadtrip to northwest Scotland
Workaway Host 2: No swim for today
Workaway Host 3: Hemp plants in the evening sun
Workaway Host 3: Making Cherry-Banana Ice Cream
Workaway Host 4: Flower Power
Workaway Host 4: Rosa gazing in the sunset
Workaway Host 5: Mushroom foraging
Workaway Host 5: Autumn hike with Zaba
Workaway Host 6: Carpentry Work
Workaway Host 6: Sunrise over Wienerwald

Feedback