Vyatka

From: Mauritius

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/11/2018 - 10/12/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I am an English teacher here in Mauritius and i have been backpacking alone since i'm 21 years old. I usually divide my summer break between voluteering and travelling because I feel that it is important to give back to the country and its people :) For the past five years I have been volunteering in India every summer break, teaching French to Tibetan refugees in the mystical town of Dharamsala ( the abode of the Dalai Lama )

    I believe that you learn more about the country by volunteering rather than being a mere tourist. I love how you are exposed to several experiences and how you learn from them. I love how I get to meet people from various parts of the world, an experience which is a treasure when you live in a small island in the middle of nowhere.

    Solo backpacking has taught me to be self-reliant, adventurous and to learn to trust people because very often your only help, especially as a female traveller, comes from strangers around you. Making new friends along the way has become like a second nature now :)

  • Type of help

    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching languages, working in a team, communication skills and i can speak English, French and Hindi fluently.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Hindi.

  • Age

    32

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback