TireeMacdonald

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Denmark, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/09/2019 - 17/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    **I AM AVAILABLE FROM APRIL TO MID JUNE 2020, I AM PLAN-LESS AT THE MOMENT THEREFORE OPEN TO ANY OPPORTUNITY DURING THIS TIME :)!**

    Kia Ora Hello Everyone!
    I'm a Kiwi girl travelling around Europe and searching to surround myself with vibrant, inspiring people from diverse and international backgrounds. Nothing brings me more joy than meeting people from all over the world and hearing their amazing, inspiring stories, and I love meeting locals to gain more insight into their culture and how they live. From Jan to March 2020 I am Au Pairing and teaching English in Spain, and from March to June I'm looking for more Workaway opportunities! Prior to this, I volunteered in a hostel in Bled (Slovenia) for 5 weeks and loved connecting with all our guests as they visited us and exploring the beautiful countryside. I am super bubbly, outgoing and ready to learn anything that is thrown my way. Workaway will be the perfect way to make my travels more fulfilling while helping local communities and connecting with fellow travellers.
    My currunt life goal is to be more like a sponge (bare with me, I´ll explain).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    In the Workaway world, I´m best suited for English teaching (particularly with children), arts and crafts projects, sustainability programmes/projects, jobs involving tourists, and anything involving connecting with other travellers and like-minded, outdoorsy, adventurous people. I enjoy creating fun but educational English lessons, or encouraging English through active play. I have been learning Spanish over the past few months, and wow it has given me a new appreciation for learning languages! That´s why I try to make language practice as fun as possible!

    I am highly competent and confident in working with tourists. My previous job as an Adventure Cave Guide at a Blackwater Company in New Zealand required physical competency, as well as the ability to communicate and connect with a wide variety of Tourists from all over the world. My empathetic and compassionate nature meant I could sense peoples needs and feelings, and adapt my guiding and communication style accordingly. I wanted to push people past their comfort zones while making them feel safe and respected. The best feeling in the world was convincing someone to do something they never thought they'd be able to do!

    As an administrator for a construction company, I had to show a good level of computer literacy and interpersonal communication. I have basic knowledge of the Microsoft Word Suite and can pick up further skills where necessary. This involved organising and coordinating Health and Safety inductions, making ID cards, site inspections, filing paperwork, which required problem-solving and excellent interpersonal communication.
    I have also had experience in the hospitality sector as a waitress, taking orders, clearing tables, and solving customer complaints.
    At University, I studied Sport and Exercise Science in New Zealand and gained a First-Class Honours degree. I love learning new things and will work hard towards a goal. During my studies, we did lots of outdoor adventures such as hiking, camping, kayaking, sailing and other activities that involve team-work, cooperation, and a sense of adventure.

    I am also pretty good with my hands when I'm given the chance. Being arty is something I have recently gained more confidence with. I´ve always had the abilities, but I never believed in myself! I used to do a lot of henna tattoos, I made and painted jewellery, did all my friend's hair and makeup, and doodling. I LOVE embriodery and sewing - any opportunity to use these skills or build upon them would be increadible. Similarly, any chance to learn wood-working or building skills would make me the happiest person!

    While my current skill sets and experience in tourism, hospitality, and customer service will render me an asset to many Workaway projects, I am always searching to develop new skills and become a more well-rounded person.

  • Languages spoken

    Native English Speaker

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    New zealand

  • What else ...

    Through my recent workaway experiences, I´ve explored and developed my knack for teaching English! English is my native language. The teaching skills I learnt while I was a Univerity Tutor and a Children's gymnastics coach allow me to feel confident teaching English. I also love picking up bits of languages wherever I go and I have been learning Spanish in Spain. I can be artsy and crafty, I enjoy sewing, embriodery, making clay jewellery, braiding hair, and painting large surfaces. I enjoy improving processes to increase efficiency. Rock climbing is one of my favourite outdoor activities. At home, I cut my dad's hair and dye mums hair, and will cut anyone else's hair if they want!
    I absolutely love going to walk, hikes and bike rides in the outdoors.
    I have a NZ and UK passport so I am eligible to work in the EU.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback