Julia & Madeleine

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/10/2020 - 23/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi, we are Julia and Madeleine, two friends who just graduated from school looking for a special time abroad wich is more than just vacation. Before we go to university we would like to experience a different country with its culture. We like the idea of helping each other and thereby make the world a better place.
    We are interested in doing something meaningful with our time abroad by supporting a cool project, help out on a farm or ranch, work especially with animals or simply assist people with their daily tasks. This gives us not only the chance to discover new parts of the world, but also the opportunity to learn some new skills.

    We look forward working with you and are happy to hear from you soon:)

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Thanks to our time at the Waldorf School, we have already made many experiences with handicrafts such as tailoring, artistic work, sculpting with wood, stone and clay, and gardening. In addition we have some experience in theatre acting. We also worked for three weeks on an agricultural farm, which additionally included a varied work with animals. We took care of horses, pigs, goats, chickens, turkeys, geese and cows on the farm. The time and the work on the farm was wonderful and we would be happy to get another opportunity to care for animals and learn even more about them. During these weeks you have experienced a different environment and a different way of life than at home. Many tasks had to be done, some of which you did on your own and without being asked. In addition, you have become much more independent, as you had to take over all household duties yourself.

    As our school has a circus project, we learned several circus disciplines such as high wire walking, juggling, artistic cycling and trapeze. We also supervised the younger students and helped them to learn these disciplines.Through the circus project we have learned to work in a team and at the same time to focus and master our own skills.

    Julia is interested in natural sciences, especially biology and physics. Therefore she gives tutoring lessons in these subjects. She also enjoys being in nature, horse riding is one of her favourite activities. She used to work at a café as a barista and right now she works as a waitress in the restaurant in her village.

    Madeleine has further experience with children, as she did a three-week internship in a kindergarten for children with and without disabilities. In addition, she has worked as a waitress and currently gives tutoring lessons in several subjects. During the school internship on the farm she also learned horse riding and how to work with horses in more detail.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    20 & 20

  • What else ...

    Hi, I'm Julia. I am an outgoing person who loves to meet new people and explore a variety of different topics. Since the age of five I play the violin and for some years I have also been playing in an orchestra. When I need to relax I like to cook or do some sports while listening to music. I especially love to go for walks with my dog Marley (a white Swiss shepherd dog) and to spend time with him in nature. Furthermore, I have an internet blog where I publish articles in which I think about questions and topics I am interested in. Moreover I’m interested in natural sciences, especially biology and physics, which is why I would like to study these subjects at university. I also have many plants in my garden, and I enjoy taking care of them very much. Currently I am very proud of my tomatoes and pumpkins, which taste excellent. In the future I dream of building a climate neutral house and being able to be self sustaining

    Hi my name is Madeleine. I am a very curious and adventurous person, so I like to learn and discover new things. Furthermore I like to be creative, so I like to draw, work on small projects and play different instruments like ukulele, flute and the piano. Actually I would be working as an au pair in New Zealand for one year since July. However, due to the current circumstances this has been postponed. Now I see it as a positive opportunity to discover other European countries with Julia.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Madeleine is vegetarian

Photos

Feedback