Sarah

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Norway, Portugal, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/02/2021 - 31/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I currently live in a collective in Denmark with eight other people on my third year and i recently finished my 7th semester at the Psychology study at Aalborg University.

    In the collective we share all our responsibilities, as well as most of our food, which we predominantly source from dumpsterdiving, increasingly from our permaculture garden and from eggs that our beloved chickens lay. Over the years we have ended up taking big parts in each other’s lives and we truly cherish the social aspects of living in our community. Most evenings are spent on board games, debates or heartfelt conversations, and our house meetings is a sacred part of every week. These are partly practical but what I enjoy the most about them is that we’ve created a safe space to share just about anything.

    In my spare time I love being creative. I both sew, draw, paint and crochet and love to find alternative solutions to problems. Also, I enjoy being active, and do both a bit of yoga, some weightlifting and I recently was introduced to bouldering. I love new challenges and to be introduced to different perspectives on life, trying to understand them, and challenge my own perspectives. I strive to be a reflected person, especially in regards of my relations, maybe due to my study. I love having discussions about society and sustainability, and find myself to be a quite easy-going person, though I can come off as a bit shy.

    My time living in the collective in Aalborg has made me grow a lot as a person, and I have come to realise that I don’t want to live a bourgeois life, with a stereotypical nine to five job. I find that I started asking myself new questions, regarding how society is designed and how it primes us to live a life, that I do not find that inspiring and that does not align with my values. I love living in our community and feel like they are my self-selected family, but it also makes many relations seem pale in comparison. I do find the friendships within the collective special and inspiring and I never find myself lonesome in their companionship. I worship that I am able to mirror myself in them, and that their dreams for the future resonates with me. I come to realise that I want to seek more relationships like the ones I have within the collective.

    Furthermore, I have spent most of my life studying, and especially the last four years at my Psychology study has been theoretically heavy. I find the subjects very interesting, but I started to lack the drive and I miss reading articles due to motivation and not because I feel obligated to do so. I believe that a break from the books, where I can unfold my more practical skills as well as improving them, will make me more motivated to finish my study.

    I want to keep living among people, who will keep challenging me, and me them and thereby have a continued growth. I am dreaming of a future with some kind of communal living, maybe in self-build tiny houses and with shared sustainable agriculture or permaculture in the garden. I would like to challenge this dream, get insight in this way of living and learn skills that hopefully will make my dream more achievable.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Before my studies i worked with aerated concrete at my dads company, to earn money before i went backpacking. Im quite alright with a hammer and am not afraid to work hard and would love to embrace the opportunity of new challenges.

    I've previously done quite some volunteer work, where i worked with people, both withs grownups with mental difficulties and with young people. I have some theoretical insight due to my studies, and also practical experience due to the volunteer work and my time living in a collective with eight other people with different backgrounds and who all meet different challenges in life as a consequence of being human.

    I am a creative person. I know how to use a sewing machine, I just started crocheting and I do quite a lot of painting and drawing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    26

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Im not allergic, however I'm type 1 diabetic. I'm well regulated though

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback